Looking for new long range scope

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for new long range scope

I have been using the SWFA 3-15x42 for 3-4 years now and it does good as far as repeatability and dialing. But, it is pretty basic. Mil Quad reticle only has .5 Mil subtensions, and really I would like something with clearer glass. It seems to me that there is a pretty competitive niche in the $1200-$1600 range, and then to make the next significant jump up from there puts a guy in the $2500 bracket, which is really probably out of my budget.

So, I'm probably looking at the $1500 +/- range, might sqeak up to $1700-$1800. Not opposed to a used scope either if a good deal was to be found. So to top my list I want good reliable adjustments (Mil only), significantly better glass than the SWFA I am running now, and preferable for it not to be a brick as far as weight goes (lighter is better). Upgraded reticle like a Horus would definitely be pretty high on the want list, also getting to 1K with a single revolution on the turret with a 6.5 would be a plus.

As far as I know, some scopes in this class would be Viper Gen II PST (not a huge fan, but maybe), Burris XTR II, Bushnell HDMR II. Name me some others, or which ones you feel are the winners in the class, and why. I appreciate it, and look forward to hearing what you guys think.

I recently had the same need and ended up jumping up to the Razor HD Gen II. To my eyes the $1500 scopes just weren't a significant improvement on the $900 Leupold VX5 HD, where looking through the Razor HD was a real "whoa" moment.

I should add that the other way you could interpret my comment is that "the Leupold VX5 HD is really good glass for the money".
    Last edited by Balcones_Walker; 01-18-2019, 08:31 AM.

Comment

I still like my NF NXS 5.5x22. Others will say it’s glass isn’t up to the price point, but no one can argue with the reliability and tracking. You can find them from time to time at a little over 1800.