Let’s Restore a Shotgun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Let’s Restore a Shotgun

So my Nana passed away back in October. We’ve been methodically cleaning out her house in Big Spring the past several months. Big Spring is 5 hours away for my sister, mom, and myself so the process has been slow. While cleaning out her garage back in December I found a Iver Johnson Champion single shot 16 gauge. It was in a storage cabinet behind a bunch of junk and laying next to a Winchester Model 67 .22 Short. They might not have moved in 40 years. Serial “number” is BHBB. There aren’t accurate records for these guns but that dates it to between 1939 and 1957 and most likely was my great grandfathers. They’re not worth much money at all, but I have decided to restore them so that we can pass them down and use them. I’ve never done this before, but let’s see how it goes. I’d love to knock down a few dove in September with this thing.

It was in pretty rough shape. This is what I’m starting with.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That’ll be fun! It doesn’t seem to be in too bad of shape by the pics.

Comment

Doesn't look too bad. Sounds like a worthy project.

Comment

I was able to get the action open (it was pretty froze up) and get it disassembled.

I then ran all the metal parts through a couple of cycles of my Sonic cleaner.

Pieces came out much cleaner as expected.

Tomorrow my plan is to take some 0000 steel wool and oil to these metal parts to remove a lot of surface rust that is still present. Then we’ll strip the finish off the wood back down to bare wood, stain it, and then give it a good coat of linseed oil. Hopefully I’ll have a functioning, restored shotgun by Sunday. I’ll update along the way as I complete steps the rest of this week.

Comment

In! Love these threads

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Great progress! Cleaned up real nice!

Comment

Oh man, please just clean it and not "restore it!!!"

Comment