Favorite bow hunting method

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Favorite bow hunting method

I'm new to bow hunting, but have been hunting since I was a kid. I have done a lot of reading through the forum and other sites, but am really curious what is everyone's preferred method of bow hunting. Specifically do you use an enclosed blind, tripod, pop up, tree stand, tuck yourself into the woods some place using natural cover, etc...

In addition to what you prefer, what have you been most successful with meaning what method has led to your best kills? Those two don't have to go together but might. You might prefer a tree stand, but have had better success out of an enclosed blind.

Just looking to learn from others experience and preference, I suspect I'll get a variety of opinions, but thought it could be informative.

I’m climber guy. I love to hunt out of a climber, you can carry it in, find a tree & climb it. If the wind ain’t right just pick a tree where the wind is right.

When I use a hang on & sticks it takes me almost 45 minutes to get set up, a climber, I’m up the tree, set up & waiting in less than 15.

Also you can go as high as you want, I’ve been as low as 8’ off the ground to around 45’ in a pine tree.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

About all I've ever done was tree stands. Use the old treehouse building skills, throw up some steps and a 2x6 or two across a limb fork, and go hunting. I managed one deer spot and stalk, but every other deer (6), pig (2), or aoudad (1) has been from a home made tree stand. I have hunted from ladder stands and a tripod a time or two on other people's setups, but haven't killed a bow animal from one. I also hunted quite a bit out of a climber when I lived in East tx, but no success.

Comment

Originally posted by mrpetera View Post