How close is too close

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How close is too close

I'm brand new to public hunting. I don't want to be that guy that causes people to complain that I set up to close to them. I also don't know when I should get upset when someone sets up by me. I would prefer to never see another person once I get set. Just curious your thoughts? How close is too close?

Sent from my moto g(7) using Tapatalk

Depends. That's why I go waaaaaayyyyy back.

Comment

If I see someone while walking to my spot and can’t make contact I typically back out. I probably over do it but I’m the same way, don’t want to hear any complaints. Especially out in BFE where someone could break in/damage my vehicle and get the hell out of dodge before I ever know it happened.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

200 yards bow hunting
        500 yards rifle hunting... Rough estimate, depends on personal comfort

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

Comment

You'll know by this.
          If he sets up and your first thought is "are you kidding me?" and you are mad, well he's too close. If you see someone set up and you think to yourself "cool, maybe he will push em my way" you are good.
          As far as your set ups. Put yourself in their shoes. You'll know if your spot is ok or not. I don't want to deal with any of it. Like SabineHunter said, go deep. Get away from the folks that don't want to work as hard.

Comment

I prefer 500 yds if possible for any type of hunting (gun or bow).

Comment

Originally posted by SabineHunter View Post
              Depends. That's why I go waaaaaayyyyy back.
              I'm not against a hike, but I've never drug a deer for a mile +. I didn't want to go to far in and regret it, but would like to go a little further than most.

Comment