It always pays to check your equipment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

It always pays to check your equipment

I bought this Carbon Express Blade from Cabelas a few months ago as a back-up and loaner to my regular crossbow (Killer Instinct KI-350). I haven't had a chance to shoot it until yesterday. It was hot and I had just zeroed the scope, but before I was going to go inside for a break, I decided to put one more shot into the target. Luckily, I decided to give the crossbow a good "once over" look before cocking the crossbow. As you can see from the enclosed photo the string was badly frayed - and this in less than 10 shots. Yes, I had oiled the cams, waxed the string and lubricated the rail before I started shooting. Hopefully, Cabelas will do me right and allow me to return this crossbow for a different one from a different manufacturer. I'll follow this up once I've had a chance to visit Cabelas and see how they want to handle this.

Regards,

Dave
    Attached Files

Looks like the cable slide may be bad or installed incorrectly.

Glad you caught that before you got hurt.

Comment

I know it's an entry level crossbow, but I'm not inspired with confidence. If I'm able to, I'm going to return it and buy a new Killer Instinct crossbow as a replacement.

Regards,

Dave

Comment

9/6/19: Update

Good morning: