New kayak purchase—need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New kayak purchase—need help!

I have the fishing bug in a bad way. I am wanting to buy a kayak but live in Amarillo. Will have to travel to get one so demo opportunities will be limited. I have some money to spend so budget isn’t an issue. Will mainly fish lakes in north Texas, New Mexico and Oklahoma. I know wind will be an issue and I really want a pedal drive. I am a plus sized guy at 6’2” and about 275lbs. I do think I might get a wild hair and drag it to the coast once in a while. I don’t mind if it gets super shallow. If that shallow I’ll get out and wade. I have limited experience on a kayak and have fished around port Mansfield in one. I am currently torn between a Hobie pro angler 14 and a Jackson big rig. Welcome to other ideas. Years ago I almost pulled the trigger on a Jackson Cuda but didn’t do it. Looking forward to some guidance!

Research and then buy from austin canoe & kayak (www.ack.com). They deliver. Lots of top brands and accessories.

Comment

I have bought a couple from ACK, and they shipped them to me (freight, not UPS). I didn't get to demo before I bought either. I just researched and watched YouTube videos. I was not at all disappointed in my choice after that, in spite of not being able to demo.

Comment

We’ve had a couple shipped to us from ACK here in Lubbock. No issues.

Comment

Just a suggestion, but road trip to Austin.

Call ACK and let them know the two you're looking at and you're serious about making the purchase.

They will set you up to demo both. I think they have a deal worked out with the Hyde Park Quarry.

Both yaks are top notch. For me, I'd look into the Jackson

Comment

Since your budget isnt an issue go with the hobie pro angler.

Comment

Originally posted by Solocam84 View Post
              Since your budget isnt an issue go with the hobie pro angler.