Thoughts on lack of doves?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thoughts on lack of doves?

I know there are a lot of you around the state that have been hammering the doves, but my question is for those of us that aren't seeing many if any at all.
    Here is my situation, I hunt a spot outside of Temple that has a pond, that always has water, big open fields and plenty of trees to roost in. We are surrounded on three sides by fields that grown corn, these fields are always cut by the start of the season, and have plenty of corn left for them to snack on. I have been hunting this place almost for about 12 years. The first 7-8 years, the place was covered in birds the entire season. The last 4-5 it is like they have disappeared. You might shoot a limit for the whole season.

Just doesnt make sense, with the water, habitat and corn fields still there. The same has happened for our duck spot, which is about 15 miles from where we duck hunt. It is like the birds just left. Any thoughts as to why, or anyone else is the same situation?

The obvious thought is the big freeze in February killed a bunch of them that didn't make it as far south as some..

Comment

The freeze hit them.

Comment

Freeze did way more damage then expected I’m guessing
        Others haven’t migrated around really
        I’m currently S/SE of Dallas and every pond is full which doesn’t help

Curious to what the big dogs might do to limits next year

Comment

You want good hunting in Central Texas. Hunt on a city limits area. Beat shoots ive had have been in areas that are against some city. Seems birds get everything they want in neighborhoods

Comment