Weld Up or Bolt Up Building

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weld Up or Bolt Up Building

Pricing the two and the weld up buildings seem to be significantly cheaper. I used to be a welder but looking at the offset of time to put one together. If I turn key it to a contractor, am I going to blow the money saved on labor if I go that route? 40x60x16 with 15ft awnings running the 60 ft lengths of the building.

Originally posted by Mr. Whiskers View Post
    Pricing the two and the weld up buildings seem to be significantly cheaper. I used to be a welder but looking at the offset of time to put one together. If I turn key it to a contractor, am I going to blow the money saved on labor if I go that route? 40x60x16 with 15ft awnings running the 60 ft lengths of the building.
    Torqued steel connections are supposed to be as strong as welds.......well, thats what structural engineers have told me anyway. Less babysitting.

Comment

My mom's 3rd ex-husband erects buildings. He did our barndo shell.

When he started, 20+ years ago, he welded everything.
      Now he will only use bolt up kits.

He says there is no difference, if they're put together right, and it's cheaper to put together the bolt up, even though the kit may cost a little more. He says, in the end, the bolt up are slightly cheaper when you factor materials and labor.

Comment

Only difference in the two is bolt up cost more.

Comment

Originally posted by Texastaxi View Post
          My mom's 3rd ex-husband erects buildings. He did our barndo shell.

When he started, 20+ years ago, he welded everything.
          Now he will only use bolt up kits.

He says there is no difference, if they're put together right, and it's cheaper to put together the bolt up, even though the kit may cost a little more. He says, in the end, the bolt up are slightly cheaper when you factor materials and labor.
          X2

Comment