Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weld/braze cast iron DO

Evening folks,

About a year ago my Lodge no 12 cast iron dutch oven developed a crack in the very bottom. Not sure how but ovens larger that 10 aren't that easy to come by. I've been looking at youtube video's about a fix but they just confuse me. I've never welded CI but I cut my teeth on stick welding, have a flux core and mig welder that I'm not very good at, and haven't brazed in 30+ years. I'd like to fix it right. Any suggestions? I see the CI welding electrodes but they are all .125 and I'm worried that may be a little to large since Lodge's aren't that thick. I have a great way to pre and post heat to cool down, so that's not a problem. I can practice brazing but would kinda prefer the fix be cast or steel.

Thanks

I think you need to preheat the whole thing very hot. Use the cast iron rod to melt it into the crack. Then very slowly cool it down or it will crack again.

Comment

Drill out the ends of the cracks, preheat and then weld it. Drilling keeps the crack from running on you.

Comment

I think if it was something I could live without and had no experience then go for it.

If it was something I 100% wanted to save and use then I would let a professional deal with it

Never welded CI but have heard it is tricky

Comment

Originally posted by BTLowry View Post
          I think if it was something I could live without and had no experience then go for it.

If it was something I 100% wanted to save and use then I would let a professional deal with it

Never welded CI but have heard it is tricky
          Well, they're not rare but hard enough to find that I haven't messed with it. I'd also appreciate recommendations for someone who could fix it from Houston to Waco. Tricky is what the youtube vids make confusing.

Comment