Homemade Scent Killer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Homemade Scent Killer

I saw another thread about using a vanilla cover scent, so I thought I'd post my homebrew. This recipe was posted on another site and I've been using it for 3 years now. I go by the "best scent is no scent" regimine, so that's what this is. I think it works:

Homebrew No Scent

2 cups- Distilled Water
    2 cups- Hydrogen Peroxide (3%)
    1/4 cup- Baking Soda
    1 oz- Unscented Soap

Mix all ingredients and let sit and combine for a few days.
    You can make a bigger/smaller batch by varying qty's accordingly, but this batch amount is enough for me to go all season.

Hope someone else gets as good of results from this as I have.

Hey Briers, What brand unscented soap do you use?

Comment

sounds good. i think im gonna try it. thanks

Comment

As far as the unscented soap, I use the same brand I shower up with, but I'm not brand specific. I just buy whatever Academy or Walmart or where ever I'm at has. It's usually HS Specialties or Scent Killer (I think that's the brand, the one w/ the yellow label and red writing).

It's that green liquid body wash soap in the hunting section.

Comment

Sounds good, I will give it a try, thanks for sharing.

Comment

Thanks for the recipe. Did I also read read somewhere that you need to leave the lid off for a few days while the brew sits?

Comment

It did say that Berandel, but I haven't had any blow up on me, yet!!

I've also thought about cutting back on the soap a little because this does foam some when i pour it in the spray bottle, but if it ain't broke don't fix it...

Comment

That recipe works! I too, would cut the soap in half.

I've used that recipe without the soap for three seasons with good results, the soap helps it stick a little longer. Either way I always reapply everytime I go to the stand.