Sarrels BH question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sarrels BH question.

I texted Bob and he said 8 inches. Now as I understand it BH is measured from the string to the deepest part of the back of the riser. Correct? If that’s true, I cannot get enough twists in the string to get it there and put the string on the bow. This is a Wildcatt, 28 at 60. 54#.

Any help appreciated. I’m just getting into this after many years of shooting wheels. Oh and thanks to BriarFriar. Digging this bow.

I have a sarrels blue ridge as well and keep it just an 8th below 8 inches

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

You need a shorter string

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Stoof...how long is the bow string? String should be 56” ish for that 60” bow...I think.

Ive run into a similar situation before when using a stringer on different length bows...maybe shorten your stringer....take a piece of pvc pipe or 2x4 and twist up some slack...or (unpreferably) make a loop knot to eat up extra string...knot is a booger to undo when no longer desired.

Im glad the Ridgecatt found a good home. Robert Garcia is gonna make me a string for the selfbow and whittle some mass off the limbs.

Comment

It’s normally measured from the deepest part of the grip on the belly side. Yours is at approximately 6 3/16” now. Looks like you need a shorter string

Comment

Sarrels BH question.

I’m starting to get close. I’m also realizing I need to buy a good stringer. P cord ain’t cutting it. Got it to 7.5 inches.
            Last edited by Stoof; 04-13-2019, 02:49 PM.

Comment

That string is twisted tighter than ****'s hatband already. I'm of the opinion that a couple and certainly no more than three twists per inch is about the maximum. If the string is a Flemish twist you can shorten it in about ten minutes time. I would take some twists out of the body of the string, remeasure, and twist a new loop into it.

Comment

Originally posted by 60 Deluxe View Post