Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you hunt in the S. Texas brush country?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

This is my first year to hunt with a bow in S. Texas as I previously only gun hunted. I have tried hunting from a ground blind, stalking, and tree stand. My problem is I like the tree stand more but also have a small fear of heights haha. I will sit in the tree stand but I do not like standing in it. The ground blind for me is easier (have a Barronett) but I really dislike having only a small opening to look out. Next year I will likely try a homemade ground blind with brush etc. So I would like to know how you hunt in the S. Texas brush country.

Do any of you sit in the big oaks and hunt from them? Mesquite trees etc?

Thanks

If you like being up get a 7’ tripod and back it into a tree. Put camo netting around behind you to break up your silhouette. I’ve also got the Mavericks, Krivo and Blind turtle ground blinds. They all work well.

Comment

I’m not a super fan of tree stand neither but a lifeline and harness surely helps. They’re not that expense and it’s just common sense to wear one. Practice in the spring and summer shooting sitting down.

Comment

Thanks for the advice. I have been using a harness when I climb and it does help. I think with time I will become more comfortable with tree stands. Do ya'll ever sit up in a big oak tree? There are a lot where I hunt (Atascosa county) but none of them are straight for a tree stand. This past weekend I just sat in the oak tree, it was not too bad, but I never saw any deer either.

Comment

Originally posted by BeardedAg08 View Post