Smoker pros! I need advice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Smoker pros! I need advice!

So every year my older cousin cooks our turkey for thanksgiving. However on February 19th of this year, he very suddenly passed away in his sleep. Thanksgiving was his favorite holiday so this one will be very hard for the family. We have now moved the meal to my house to try and ease some of the pain of not seeing him in his normal spot at my granny's house. Well this year the turkey has fallen on me. I've cooked birds before but last thanksgiving Eric went on and on about smoking a bird for this thanksgiving. So I figured I owed it to him to give it a shot. I've never smoked anything before. I'm a very good cook and I grill all the time but I know that's not the same. Here is my rig

I was thinking I would give this recipe a go

But basically I want yalls opinions. Am I in over my head? I can't make an already hard holiday worse, by serving a crappy turkey. Should I go with a normal baked turkey or do you think smoking a turkey is fairly easy to pull off?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

You got this! Smoke that turkey, that pit will do just fine. If you have time Id start a fire in the box and play around a little seeing how your temps go in the chamber. Between all the guys on here that smoke meat on the regular you are in good hands.

Comment

Originally posted by J Sweet View Post
      You got this! Smoke that turkey, that pit will do just fine. If you have time Id start a fire in the box and play around a little seeing how your temps go in the chamber. Between all the guys on here that smoke meat on the regular you are in good hands.

Thanks man. Yeah I'm starting a fire now so I can see how to get to the sweet spot. 240° according to that recipe

Comment

That maple bird look good, prayer for you and your family this holiday. I'm no help on the smokers..

Comment

Originally posted by MySRT8U View Post