Pastora for KR Bluestem, sandburrs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pastora for KR Bluestem, sandburrs

This spring, for the first time, I'm going to try to treat our large front yard (120' X 50') with Pastora for sandburrs and the notorious King Ranch Bluestem. I have quite a bit of experience with herbicides - have a pesticide license, and have worked with other chemicals like 2,4-d, and some others. But this is my first time with Pastora.

Any tips on using this stuff? I understand you have to apply it at JUST the right time or it won't work. Can I treat for sandburrs and KRB with the same spraying?

The stuff is expensive - $100+ for a little 5" box of powder!

Still waiting for results. If any.

Comment

No experience with Pastora but will
      Be interested to know how it worked for you.

Comment

I have been told there is something you put down in February, that kills grass burrs, but have not been told what the name of the product is. I was told to go to the feed store, they would know what it is.

But then I have been told to fertilize the soil thoroughly and that will get rid of the grass burrs also. I have been told many years ago, that grass burrs are a sign of poor soil quality. San Patricio ag department taught us that many years ago. But then I have had multiple people argue with that, saying that's not true. But just told again over the weekend it is true.

Comment

I've been wanting to try pastora as well.

I did use quite a bit of Pendulum this year and have had good feedback on sandburs not being as bad as normal.

It is a pre emergent

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Comment

Prowl is the preemergent herbicide to spray in February BUT it has to be in contact with bare soil!

Pastora works well but it has to be applied before the sandburs get too tall. >4".

Pendulum works well too but it will stunt Bermuda grass until it rains.