Another new bow thread!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Another new bow thread!

I’m in the market for a new bow. Been shooting my Bowtech Guardian since 2007. It’s been a great bow but I have the itch for something new! I’ve only owned Bowtech but I am open to other manufacturers. I’m partial to the big three (IMO) Bowtech, Hoyt and Matthews. Just wanting to get some opinions on new equipment out there.

And I’m new to the Austin area (Burnet, Liberty Hill) any good archery shops?

Those 3 are good, but go shoot a new Obsession. See what you think. I was a longtime Mathews homer until I got talked into an OB. Haven’t looked back. The Fixation XP is really tempting me! Good luck. The bow will pick you regardless.

Comment

Shoot all the different makes and models that you can, all set up the same if possible and let the bow pick you. Only right way to do it. It may take time, but it can be done and you will be happy in the end.

I second the Obsession bows.

Comment

I’m the same as the mdnabors. Shot a Mathews for years until I picked up an Obsession and never looked back. IMO Good luck to you

Comment

I'll agree with the above, shoot all the different bows you can, not just the primaries. You might be surprised what you find. I shoot a G5 for my compound, and have for 3 years now. It just feels great in my hand. Keep shooting them until you pick one up that you can't put down.

Comment

Thanks for the input. I’m gonna have to spend a full day just shooting and find out what I like!

Suggestions for good bow shops North Austin area?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Agree with the others. Shoot as many different ones as you can and let the bow pick you. My last bow purchase literally came down to me shooting 3 different brands( Hoyt, Mathews and Strother) with my eyes closed . The guy at the shop handed me all three bows and 4 rounds in a row I came up with the same bow as the winner (Strother) and I love it.

Comment