Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Harvey Aftermath & Relief
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2017, 11:46 PM   #1
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default Generator help.

I was very lucky to come out of Harvey in pretty good shape. I was close enough to the eye to not get all the rain Houston got . Didn't have a generator the first few days. Ended up getting my dads after he got power back . I plan to buy one after the madness settles down . What size would I need to keep my freezers and a window unit running ? Something fuel efficient. The one I had burned about 6 gallons every 8 hrs . Fuel was hard to come by. Had to drive about 50 miles one way to get fuel every day .




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 02:23 AM   #2
Starman
Ten Point
 
Starman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Hunt In: Menard Co.
Default

It would depend on the size of your window unit and the number of freezers, based on the watts and amps that they pull.

I used one of those small 2000 watt Honda generators after Ike and was running 2 refrigerators along with lamps, fans, tv, phone chargers. They are very fuel efficient, but more expensive than a lot of others.

I now own a Briggs and Stratton 3750 watt/5250 starting watts generator, and during Harvey I ran 3 refrigerator/ freezers, tv, lamps, phone chargers, fans.

Best I can tell, it burned about 7-8 gallons of fuel during a total run time of 23 hours. We were without power for 35 hours, but I shut it down 3 times for several hours, as the refrigerators will stay cold for quite a while without power.

I have a 6000 btu air conditioner that I had planned to use, but we were lucky that the temps were in the low 70's, so didn't need to run it. The air conditioner pulls 540 watts, and I had calculated that I still had plenty of capacity with the 3750 watts of the generator.

Your mileage may vary, but these have been my experiences.
Starman is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 05:54 AM   #3
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

I have two freezers . Not sure on the size of the ac it's a small unit. One I was using was a 6500 .


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 06:54 AM   #4
JES
Ten Point
 
JES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Richmond
Hunt In: Stonewall County
Default

I don't have nay input on the generator, but did you lose the stuff in your freezer or did you get the generator in time to save it? Thinking of all that beautiful bacon!
JES is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:19 AM   #5
Kbar
Six Point
 
Kbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strummer View Post
I have two freezers . Not sure on the size of the ac it's a small unit. One I was using was a 6500 .


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Write down the electrical information on the electric motor plates and talk to Mr. Horvath on Rio Grande next to Auto Zone.
That man has forgotten more about generators and electric motors than you can imagine. He does the manufacture repairs for Generac and several other generator manufactures.

Also, in advance fill some one gallon jugs 3/4 full and freeze them. once they are solid, cut the tops off and expose the airspace and leave in the very bottom of the freezer. Leave those in the freezer all the time. Sfrozen salt water will stay colder longer because the freeze temperature is lower but I cant remember the ratio of salt / water.
Our freezer stayed good for 4 days without power because of the block ice. Still had frozen dewberries and blueberries on day 4.
Kbar is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:22 AM   #6
Kbar
Six Point
 
Kbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

also, Lentz in vitoria got in a bunch of the 120 / 240 30 amp male twist plugs for generators this week if you have that type of female on your generator and need to connect a water well.
Kbar is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:30 AM   #7
Beagledad01
Nubbin' Buck
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Waxahachie
Default

Just my $0.02 but consider a unit that will run on propane, the fuel will store and not junk up the system. Gasoline in storage goes bad fairly soon. A 50# or 100# cylinder is affordable and will run for extended time periods.
Beagledad01 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 11:16 AM   #8
Bill in San Jose
Pope & Young
 
Bill in San Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Hunt In: CA, CO, OR, and TX
Default

I assume you ran heavy extension cords. Please- don't back feed into your house.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill in San Jose is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 11:20 AM   #9
Rubi513
Pope & Young
 
Rubi513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Conroe
Hunt In: Walker County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in San Jose View Post
I assume you ran heavy extension cords. Please- don't back feed into your house.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nothing wrong with it, as long as you know what you're doing.
Rubi513 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 11:58 AM   #10
TallTexan
Pope & Young
 
TallTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Silsbee
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagledad01 View Post
Just my $0.02 but consider a unit that will run on propane, the fuel will store and not junk up the system. Gasoline in storage goes bad fairly soon. A 50# or 100# cylinder is affordable and will run for extended time periods.


I would like to hear some real time info on running propane. I read somewhere a 20# tank is equivalent to 5 gallons of gas.

As far a generator goes, buy big enough so you can closer to 50% or less power. That should help conserve fuel.
TallTexan is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:02 PM   #11
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
I don't have nay input on the generator, but did you lose the stuff in your freezer or did you get the generator in time to save it? Thinking of all that beautiful bacon!


All my bacon is good . Made sure of that . Took it to my dads . Did lose some chickens and quail.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:03 PM   #12
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbar View Post
Write down the electrical information on the electric motor plates and talk to Mr. Horvath on Rio Grande next to Auto Zone.

That man has forgotten more about generators and electric motors than you can imagine. He does the manufacture repairs for Generac and several other generator manufactures.



Also, in advance fill some one gallon jugs 3/4 full and freeze them. once they are solid, cut the tops off and expose the airspace and leave in the very bottom of the freezer. Leave those in the freezer all the time. Sfrozen salt water will stay colder longer because the freeze temperature is lower but I cant remember the ratio of salt / water.

Our freezer stayed good for 4 days without power because of the block ice. Still had frozen dewberries and blueberries on day 4.


Thanks will talk to him next time I'm in town



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:04 PM   #13
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in San Jose View Post
I assume you ran heavy extension cords. Please- don't back feed into your house.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Didn't back feed just plugged in to the generator. I do have heavy cords that I can use it I decide to rig up to back feed


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:05 PM   #14
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TallTexan View Post
I would like to hear some real time info on running propane. I read somewhere a 20# tank is equivalent to 5 gallons of gas.

As far a generator goes, buy big enough so you can closer to 50% or less power. That should help conserve fuel.


My house runs on propane so that would be the best option. Have a 500 gal tank


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:41 PM   #15
Kingfisher789
Eight Point
 
Kingfisher789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Austin. Jim Ned Creek
Hunt In: Tivydale. Nix. Brownwood
Default

I like the propane suggestion
Kingfisher789 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 08:55 PM   #16
Richard S.
Six Point
 
Richard S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Hunt In: Victoria, Tx
Default

You can make or have made some junction boxes, like a 4 gang box with the plug into one of the 20 or 30 amp outlets. This way you have more options to plug in items. Just don't over load the circuit.
Richard S. is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 09:24 PM   #17
TeamAmerica
Six Point
 
TeamAmerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Dallas
Hunt In: Corsicana (Navarro County)
Default

I bought a 10kwatt powerland brand one that runs off natural gas. I have a quick disconnect a few feet off the gas meter. I would not want to be chasing down gas while I need it. This will run a small A.C. for sure.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Powerland...000E/203608220
TeamAmerica is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 09:28 PM   #18
Strummer
Ten Point
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamAmerica View Post
I bought a 10kwatt powerland brand one that runs off natural gas. I have a quick disconnect a few feet off the gas meter. I would not want to be chasing down gas while I need it. This will run a small A.C. for sure.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Powerland...000E/203608220


Will for sure look for a set up like that. I bet in a ,oath or two I can get a good deal on one.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Strummer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 09:38 PM   #19
TeamAmerica
Six Point
 
TeamAmerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Dallas
Hunt In: Corsicana (Navarro County)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strummer View Post
Will for sure look for a set up like that. I bet in a ,oath or two I can get a good deal on one.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If you have my luck and buy it after the storm it will sit in your garage and collect dust for several years.
TeamAmerica is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 10:18 PM   #20
TallTexan
Pope & Young
 
TallTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Silsbee
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamAmerica View Post
I bought a 10kwatt powerland brand one that runs off natural gas. I have a quick disconnect a few feet off the gas meter. I would not want to be chasing down gas while I need it. This will run a small A.C. for sure.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Powerland...000E/203608220


I'm gonna have to check this out.
TallTexan is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 10:52 PM   #21
Bill in San Jose
Pope & Young
 
Bill in San Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Hunt In: CA, CO, OR, and TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strummer View Post
Didn't back feed just plugged in to the generator. I do have heavy cords that I can use it I decide to rig up to back feed


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


The concern's not the gauge of the cords, it's the main breaker is what is between your generator and potentially killing a lineman doing repairs who thinks the wire is dead.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bill in San Jose is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-02-2017, 11:33 PM   #22
14JKURX
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TallTexan View Post
I would like to hear some real time info on running propane. I read somewhere a 20# tank is equivalent to 5 gallons of gas.

As far a generator goes, buy big enough so you can closer to 50% or less power. That should help conserve fuel.
My 6500 is Honda running 1 8,000 Btu window unit, 1 energy efficient freezer 1 side by side refrigerator TV a few lights and at times microwave, coffee pot, you get the idea. Will run 10 to 12 hrs on a gas grill size bottle. My generator has the eco throttle so it changes speed depending on load.
14JKURX is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-03-2017, 07:54 AM   #23
TallTexan
Pope & Young
 
TallTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Silsbee
Hunt In: East Texas
Default Generator help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in San Jose View Post
The concern's not the gauge of the cords, it's the main breaker is what is between your generator and potentially killing a lineman doing repairs who thinks the wire is dead.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


The gauge should be some concern. Its not good for someone trying to feed the panel with a 14ga cord.

Your main point is spot on. Making sure the main disconnect is off is the first step.

Last edited by TallTexan; 09-03-2017 at 07:58 AM..
TallTexan is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-03-2017, 07:59 AM   #24
TallTexan
Pope & Young
 
TallTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Silsbee
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14JKURX View Post
My 6500 is Honda running 1 8,000 Btu window unit, 1 energy efficient freezer 1 side by side refrigerator TV a few lights and at times microwave, coffee pot, you get the idea. Will run 10 to 12 hrs on a gas grill size bottle. My generator has the eco throttle so it changes speed depending on load.


That is a good number.
TallTexan is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com