Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > The Other Side of the Ranch (Firearms)
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2017, 09:08 PM   #1
tazhunter0
Pope & Young
 
tazhunter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wills Point
Hunt In: Anywhere I can!!!
Question Scope mounts for a AR.

Need some suggestions on scope mounts for a flattop AR. ( has a 20 inch heavy barrel ) Putting a 4x16x44 scope on the gun. One piece or two piece mounts and which ones? Quick release mounts, do they hold there zero when removed and put back on the gun.

Thanks
tazhunter0 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 09:25 PM   #2
gb22250
Four Point
 
gb22250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lampasas
Hunt In: Lampasas
Default

I prefer one piece. I have the Burris Pepr QR mount on mine. I’ve only removed and replaced twice but I didn’t have to make any adjustments. American Defense Recon qd mount was also high on my list. My buddy has a larue mount on his and he likes it, too rich for my blood though.
gb22250 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 09:26 PM   #3
Grulla
Ten Point
 
Grulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Yoakum tx
Hunt In: Guadalupe River
Default

I have the recon mount and it's legit ..
Grulla is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 09:47 PM   #4
SC-Texas
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

I use Larue Tactical mounts

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
SC-Texas is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 10:02 PM   #5
RifleBowPistol
Four Point
 
RifleBowPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Comal Co.
Hunt In: South Tx, Hill Country, Panhandle
Default

I have some info on this subject. My first AR, I put a Colt one piece mount on the gun. Has worked great for many years, always dead on, with my cheap Simmons scope. The height is perfect.

Two years ago, I built a second AR, I looked at a lot of scope mounts and decided the AR Reaper mount looked durable, I bought it, with 30 mm rings. I had a Vortex Viper 4X16 scope. I had lots of problems getting low enough behind the scope. I was always seeing black around the edges of the scope. I started to wonder about the scope. Well, the Vortex 4X16 died suddenly, I put the Simmons, in the Colt mount on that gun. It worked great. I later figured out the center of the rings, of the Colt mount was about 3/8" higher than the AR Reaper mount.

So I started looking for another mount, that was taller. I found the Burris P.E.R.P. mount, a one piece mount, looks very durable. I found the center of the rings, were exactly the same height as the center of the Colt rings. The height of the P.E.R.P., mount, fixed the problem with me seeing black around the edges of the scope. The Reaper mount was too low, I kept noticing I had to turn my head **** near sideways to see through the scope, so I woould not have black edges in the scope. The P.E.R.P. has six screws per ring. That looked like a good idea and bad at the same time. Because Vortex told me no more than 18 in. lbs. of torque on the rings, or else the exterior tube would be crushed to the point of making contact with the inner field tube. Well like I worried, with the six ring screws, if you go I a criss cross pattern, you have to go through the pattern many times torqueing the ring screws before all six screw are at 18 in. lbs. I knew this was going to make the rings tighter than Vortex wanted them to be. Sure enough the gun would only shoot 4" to 6" groups. I eventually loosened the rings and tightened them to something like 8 or 10 in. lbs., to get the rifle to shoot 1" groups. But the point of impact shifted after 10 shots. I then noticed the scope had slid all the way forward, in the rings. So that was not working very well

I got tired of the thin walled Vortex scope and bought a Weaver hoping for a heavier wall tubing scope. The Weaver Super Slam I bought, turned out to be a 1" tube scope, so the Burris mount would not work. So I looked for another mount, I found the Leupold, mount, also a one piece, about 1/8" shorter than the Burris and the Colt, mounts. But 1/4" higher than the AR Reaper. The Leupold, only as two screws per ring. So getting the proper tension on the rings is much easier. So far, the Weaver scope and Leupold mount seem to work pretty good.

Last edited by RifleBowPistol; 11-14-2017 at 10:15 PM..
RifleBowPistol is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 10:15 PM   #6
Reedimus
Eight Point
 
Reedimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Helotes
Hunt In: Bandera County, Bee County
Default

I have a vortex 30mm with 2 inch offset I'll sell ya. Ordered one when I ordered my optic but the optic came with a mount so I have an extra.
Reedimus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 10:45 PM   #7
RifleBowPistol
Four Point
 
RifleBowPistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Comal Co.
Hunt In: South Tx, Hill Country, Panhandle
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reedimus View Post
I have a vortex 30mm with 2 inch offset I'll sell ya. Ordered one when I ordered my optic but the optic came with a mount so I have an extra.
In all of my searching, I never found Vortex mounts. What do they look like?
RifleBowPistol is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-14-2017, 11:08 PM   #8
Maxlab
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: Jimwells/Gonzalez
Default

ADM Recon, has worked well for me.
Maxlab is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 01:32 AM   #9
Jeremy7306
Pope & Young
 
Jeremy7306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Burleson,TX
Hunt In: Whitney, Anywhere I can find
Default

American defense recon is what I hold my Vortex Strike eagle down with. Iíve taken it off and put it back on numerous times, my AR sits in my safe with iron sight only. Never had it come off zero. Definitely worth the money IMO.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jeremy7306 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 02:00 AM   #10
cizzle210
Spike
 
cizzle210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: SAN ANTONIO
Hunt In: ANYWHERE USA
Default

I'm also running a Larue mount. It has kept it zero after 400+ rounds
cizzle210 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 04:56 AM   #11
rosco11
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Spring
Hunt In: Rocksprings
Default

Aero Precision ultralight mount
rosco11 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 07:23 AM   #12
nacohunter
Four Point
 
nacohunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nacogdoches county
Hunt In: Nacogdoches County, Cherokee County, Runnels County, Rusk County
Default

If Larue is an option, go with Larue. I probably have close to 3,000 rounds through mine and it still works like new.
nacohunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 12:27 PM   #13
justintyme8303
Pope & Young
 
justintyme8303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pflugerville,TX
Hunt In: Looking for lease. HELP!!
Default

Why use a mount vs rings straight to the top of the receiver? Will it not be a dedicated setup?
justintyme8303 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 12:34 PM   #14
Reedimus
Eight Point
 
Reedimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Helotes
Hunt In: Bandera County, Bee County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RifleBowPistol View Post
In all of my searching, I never found Vortex mounts. What do they look like?
Pm sent
Reedimus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 03:32 PM   #15
tazhunter0
Pope & Young
 
tazhunter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wills Point
Hunt In: Anywhere I can!!!
Default

I’m looking at the suggestions now.

Thanks
tazhunter0 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-15-2017, 03:34 PM   #16
tazhunter0
Pope & Young
 
tazhunter0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wills Point
Hunt In: Anywhere I can!!!
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justintyme8303 View Post
Why use a mount vs rings straight to the top of the receiver? Will it not be a dedicated setup?
It will be a dedicated set up, so individual mounts are possible. Just wanted options.
tazhunter0 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com