Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 09-13-2017, 11:15 AM   #1
breederbuck33
Ten Point

Default Question for the Game Cam users.

I have a Macbook Pro that I've been using for the last 8-10 years to download my TC pics. It was a good run but the Macbook is toast and I'm about to enter the market for a new laptop/tablet that is used for my hunting pictures only. I'm not wanting to break the bank and buy a $1200.00 machine, I just want something that allows me to download a card with 3000 or so pictures on it and go through them fairly quickly. We have 5 cameras out at a time for the most part, so being able to go through 15-20 thousand pictures quickly is a big deal for me...I know a lot of you guys run a bunch of cameras at a time so I'm just looking for some input as to what works for you.
breederbuck33 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-13-2017, 11:26 AM   #2
Jared.King
Eight Point

Hunt In: Eden, TX and Yoakum County

^The exact thing happened to me this year. In for answers.
Jared.King is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-13-2017, 11:29 AM   #3
TheHammer
Ten Point

Hunt In: Tom Green Co, Panola Co, TX

I went to the electronic store in Longview and bought a refurbished laptop with starter windows for $50. I use it strictly for checking cameras. It's a compact laptop too, so it makes it easier
TheHammer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-13-2017, 11:30 AM   #4
gingib
Pope & Young

Hunt In: NTX

Maybe a Chromebook or something similar? I got a feeling my $1200 laptop on its way out also. Thank God I get a chromebook for work I can use
gingib is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-13-2017, 11:42 AM   #5
adam_p
Ten Point

Hunt In: Grayson, Cooke

Avoid windows 10. I absolutely hate how it handles pictures. If you only have one cam it might not be bad, but the way it sorts pictures from multiple cams sucks.