Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2018, 01:06 PM   #1
Fargus
Ten Point
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default AC Froze

I noticed that the AC was running, but wasn't a lot of air movement. I stepped outside and noticed the line running to the house was frozen as well as the center deal inside the condenser. I have the unit shut off now. We just had the condenser replaced early last summer. What would cause it to freeze up like this?
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:10 PM   #2
Smart
Pope & Young
 
Smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Hunt In: Tom Green County
Default

Low on freon for me........been there done that...

clogged orifice
Smart is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:10 PM   #3
Goldeneagle
Pope & Young
 
Goldeneagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Allen, TX
Hunt In: Where ever I get a chance.
Default

Dirty filter?
Goldeneagle is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:14 PM   #4
mikeyb_23
Ten Point
 
mikeyb_23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: White Settlement, Tx
Hunt In: Pleasanton, Public land
Default

I'm getting refrigerant put in as I type. $199 for the first 2lbs and $80 a lb after that. Thats r22
mikeyb_23 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:15 PM   #5
TEX_hunt_AS
Ten Point
 
TEX_hunt_AS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boyd
Hunt In: Nowhere until I find a lease
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart View Post
Low on freon for me........been there done that...

clogged orifice
This
TEX_hunt_AS is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:18 PM   #6
bakin7005
Ten Point
 
bakin7005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: North Richland Hills
Hunt In: Oklahoma / San Saba Co.
Default

Did anyone mention low Freon? Need to turn system off. Your evaporator coil is frozen solid and will need to thaw before the service guy arrives.
bakin7005 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:21 PM   #7
Jsmullins
Nubbin' Buck
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Llano
Hunt In: Llano
Default

Clogged filter and enough dust got past or around filter to clog coils. It's always the first thing to check . remove filter with AC off and see what it looks like inside. may need a spray coil cleaner and a rag to wipe it all down to remove build up.
Jsmullins is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:22 PM   #8
BtheBuck
Six Point
 
BtheBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oak Point, TX
Hunt In: Cooke
Default

What can you expect to pay per pound on Freon?
BtheBuck is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:24 PM   #9
hunt247
Ten Point
 
hunt247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stephenville
Hunt In: Saint Jo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BtheBuck View Post
What can you expect to pay per pound on Freon?
R-22 is $100 per pound
hunt247 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:25 PM   #10
boy wonder
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brock
Hunt In: Albany
Default

Clogged filter is the first check, then dirty coils, then dirty outside unit coils, then call an AC guy.
boy wonder is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:27 PM   #11
Fargus
Ten Point
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Good times! How long does the system need to be off? I shut it down probably 35 minutes ago.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:29 PM   #12
Smart
Pope & Young
 
Smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Hunt In: Tom Green County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fargus View Post
Good times! How long does the system need to be off? I shut it down probably 35 minutes ago.

It will thaw faster if you turn just the fan on without the AC.
Smart is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:30 PM   #13
whiplash
Ten Point
 
whiplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Floresville/Austin
Hunt In: Wilson County
Default

First check is always the filter. If it’s dirty, change it. To thaw it out, shut off the ac but leave the fan on. It’s quicker.

Last edited by whiplash; 05-31-2018 at 01:40 PM.
whiplash is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:32 PM   #14
bakin7005
Ten Point
 
bakin7005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: North Richland Hills
Hunt In: Oklahoma / San Saba Co.
Default

Who doesn't check/maintain a filter guys....com' on jeez....
bakin7005 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 01:52 PM   #15
WItoTX
Ten Point
 
WItoTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Katy
Hunt In: Wisconsin, New Mexico, Colorado, Montana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakin7005 View Post
Who doesn't check/maintain a filter guys....com' on jeez....
You haven't seen the Facebook page for my neighborhood. Replacing one is rocket science for those people.
WItoTX is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 02:08 PM   #16
Fargus
Ten Point
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakin7005 View Post
Who doesn't check/maintain a filter guys....com' on jeez....
Kinda what I was thinking. Mine get changed pretty regular.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 02:57 PM   #17
CrookedArrow
Ten Point
 
CrookedArrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midland
Hunt In: Tamplias Chiwawa, Mejico
Default

In this order
Check air filter
Check coils

If there is a problem there chance the compressor may have over heated and hopefully did not burn out. Get a water hose and cool it down. Been there done that.
CrookedArrow is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 03:00 PM   #18
mpotts
Ten Point
 
mpotts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: texas
Hunt In: Lometa Tx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smart View Post
low on freon for me........been there done that...

Clogged orifice
^^^^winner^^^^
mpotts is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 03:04 PM   #19
bbqfan5909
Ten Point
 
bbqfan5909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Turn heater on, will defrost and start checking what others recommended.
bbqfan5909 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 03:06 PM   #20
Fargus
Ten Point
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart View Post
Low on freon for me........been there done that...

clogged orifice
Considering the source, I am almost afraid to ask this question, but what orifice?
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 03:09 PM   #21
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bakin7005 View Post
Who doesn't check/maintain a filter guys....com' on jeez....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fargus View Post
Kinda what I was thinking. Mine get changed pretty regular.
I finally broke down and signed up for a filter deliver thru Amazon. 4 filter every 2 months. It has helped me to change them out. West Texas is so dry and dusty a 3 month filter lasts maybe a month.
Playa is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 03:30 PM   #22
juanmcasasjr
Four Point
 
juanmcasasjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edinburg, TX
Hunt In: Puerto Rico, TX, San Manuel, TX
Default

Yes. Change the filter regularly. This would happen at my previous home.
juanmcasasjr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 06:05 PM   #23
txoutdoorsman24
Pope & Young
 
txoutdoorsman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: In camo
Default

Several causes can occur. Clogged/dirty Evap coils, dirty filter could bust most likely get sucked up into the coil. Most common cause is low refrigerant. Which is caused by a leak in the system. Have someone come out and take a look


Turn the fan on and let it go. Will be defrosted in the morning. Takes a good while to thaw out. Don’t turn it back on bc it freed back up.
txoutdoorsman24 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 06:26 PM   #24
bobc
Ten Point
 
bobc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Temple
Hunt In: Bell County, New Mexico
Default

No trying to hijack, but I am assuming the white pvc in the top pic is the drain, since there is no cap on the top of it. Should I pour some bleach down it as a preventative?

Name:  IMG_1159.jpg
Views: 313
Size:  45.9 KB

Name:  IMG_1160.jpg
Views: 315
Size:  44.9 KB


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bobc is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 06:55 PM   #25
Smith
Four Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: TX Hill Country and Panhandle
Default

Low refrigerant or low airflow on indoor unit causes freezups. Just going to have to call a tech
Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2018, 07:17 PM   #26
gumbl3
Ten Point
 
gumbl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: anna
Hunt In: muenster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobc View Post
No trying to hijack, but I am assuming the white pvc in the top pic is the drain, since there is no cap on the top of it. Should I pour some bleach down it as a preventative?

Attachment 910000

Attachment 910001


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes.. helps kill mold that will grow in there
gumbl3 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 07:45 PM   #27
Fargus
Ten Point
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Ugh

So the tech showed up LATE last night which was great! Looks around a bit, does a few things then attempts to call someone because he is obviously unsure what to make of it. After some conversation he determines that the unit is low on refrigerant (high and low pressure readings were nearly equal at ~165) and goes to get the bottle out of the truck. Despite my telling him over the phone that the installing tech (condenser was replaced a year ago by a company I refuse to use anymore) had used some sort of cross over refrigerant that wasn't r22 or 410a he still brought just a bottle of 410a. Now he has to make a return trip the next day with the proper stuff, 407c.

We discuss the timing of his return and he made it clear that it would be around noon or shortly after. He finally showed up at 5. Now he has a couple different things he wants to look at and now it is the compressor that is bad. He tested the amps and ended up with a reading of 2 when it should have been between RLA 19.8 and LRA 104. With it being after 5 on Friday there is no chance of getting an answer on the warranty and there isn't a parts place open if I wanted to get the compressor on my own then try to get reimbursed.

Mind you, before he had shown up last night and after the thing had thawed out I had turned the unit on and it appeared to be running normal. The copper lines got cold and I had cool air. Unfortunately, I had already called to have a tech sent and didn't think it would hurt to have them inspect it. It was only after he had unplugged some wires and removed the capacitor (despite the fan running fine) all of a sudden the condenser is making a terrible racket.

When I mentioned the fact that the condenser seemed to have run fine when I had tested it prior to him getting there his reply was "Yea, that has me confused as well".

At this point, I am still not exactly sure what is going on. We are stuck without AC until Monday at the earliest.

Last edited by Fargus; 06-01-2018 at 07:58 PM.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 07:56 PM   #28
StrayDog
Ten Point
 
StrayDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Funky Town
Hunt In: Coleman County
Default

I’m no AC guy but if your refrigerant is really low it would make sense your compressor isn’t drawing near FLA (compressor is doing less work & thus drawing less amps).

I’d call someone else if it were me - cheaper to pay a knowledgeable tech.
StrayDog is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 08:38 PM   #29
captainsling
Pope & Young
 
captainsling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy
Hunt In: Dilley, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrayDog View Post
Iím no AC guy but if your refrigerant is really low it would make sense your compressor isnít drawing near FLA (compressor is doing less work & thus drawing less amps).

Iíd call someone else if it were me - cheaper to pay a knowledgeable tech.
I would think the compressor is having to work harder with low refrigerant.
captainsling is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 08:57 PM   #30
doghouse
Pope & Young
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Goldthwaite
Hunt In: Mills County
Default

I get mine serviced every year about mid-May from the original installer. No problems in 12 years. Cost about 100 are so depending on amount of freon added. Small town in central Tx.

Last edited by doghouse; 06-01-2018 at 09:00 PM.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 08:57 PM   #31
StrayDog
Ten Point
 
StrayDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Funky Town
Hunt In: Coleman County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainsling View Post
I would think the compressor is having to work harder with low refrigerant.
Iím just a dumb pump guy put a compressor is really a glorified pump.

If there isnít enough refrigerant in the system then there isnít any resistance for the compressor to work against.

Itís not really intuitive but itís how the physics be.

Iíd take my multimeter and measure resistance across my compressor motor (breaker turned off).

If resistance checked out Iíd call a different tech... but thatís just me.
StrayDog is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-01-2018, 09:36 PM   #32
Robertt
Eight Point
 
Robertt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Portland, Tx
Hunt In: Atascosa County, Tx
Default

I feel your pain. Came home one afternoon and the inside unit is working but it was not cooling. I go outside and the outside unit is not coming on. I called a local company and tell them the start capacitor on the outside unit is probably the problem. The guy shows up, takes six screws off the side of the unit, slides off four wires. Puts a new one in puts the wires on and screws the panel back on. He was here less than an hour. Comes inside and hands me a bill for $500. It's a $30 part! I told him that was highway robbery. He said the work is already done and that is the cost. I told him this will be the last check I will ever write your company and it will be. I had him leave the old one and found them online at Lowes and Home Depot. If I had known I could get them there I would have just went and got the part myself.
Robertt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com