Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone else getting tired of game cameras?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone else getting tired of game cameras?

I have been using game cameras since 2001. When they first came out I thought they were the greatest thing ever invented for hunting. Now it seems like they are more of a pain. I have 3 of them, two Moultrie and 1 bushne. I am always having to replace batteries and memory cards, and when I view the pictures most of the time I don't even want to hunt because the bucks are so crummy. I am starting to think hunting was more fun without a game camera: cheaper, less stuff to deal with, and there was a sense of hope/mystery every time I sat the stand of what might be out there comming to my feeder.
    Am I losing it?

So stop using them.

Seriously though, I sometimes feel the same.
    If there are only the same small/young bucks on the camera, sometimes it's hard to get motivated to sit in the stand.

Comment

No.
      I remember having a conversation several years ago with some Retriever Training friends. Our conversation was about the proliferation of action decoys. And how it seemed to take some of the fun and joy out of it. Always worried about batteries, battery life, how will this new gadget affect & effect my spread. Who's going to control the remote control swimming duck(s), who's going to man the jerk line.....

Comment

Never used them for that reason. That way the excitement of not knowing what can step out keeps it exciting. I also hunt public land but I'm more of a meat hunter. So I really don't care if nothing but doe's come in. I work so much that it's more about the peace and quite and hanging out with buddies at lunch time. No work no phone call's. Don't get me wrong, I love to see some good bucks but I get just as excited to see a good group of doe's coming in.

Comment