Hunting + Photography: Packs and Setup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm curious if there are any of you who manage to bring your bow gear and photog gear out on a hunt.

I'm pretty new to bowhunting, but when I rifle hunt I am typically sitting in a blind so it's not too unrealistic to have a camera on a tripod sitting next to me and still have plenty of room for a spotting scope and a rifle... yet even then it's a lot of gear to carry around.

How do you hunt with a camera, what's in your bag (and what kind of bag!?), etc.

Happy shooting!
    Whiskey

Following....

I haven’t brought my camera with me on a hunt yet. But I love photography, so this is of great interest to me.

Comment

I do it when rifle hunting but never have when i was bow hunting

Comment

I use a Badlands Diablo and manage to get my small Panasonic camcorder in it with up to a couple extra lenses for my Canon 1DXMKII. I will carry my 1DX with a 120-300mm lens attached on a monopod over m shoulder. Bow is strapped over my shoulder while I'm walking in. It's a lot, but I sure enjoy having it all in the blind. I have a tripod I leave in the blind and will bring in the video head for my hunts. It goes in the pack as well.

Comment

Originally posted by MillsJake View Post
          I do it when rifle hunting but never have when i was bow hunting
          Nice, so what does your rifle setup look like?

Originally posted by Casey View Post
          I use a Badlands Diablo and manage to get my small Panasonic camcorder in it with up to a couple extra lenses for my Canon 1DXMKII. I will carry my 1DX with a 120-300mm lens attached on a monopod over m shoulder. Bow is strapped over my shoulder while I'm walking in. It's a lot, but I sure enjoy having it all in the blind. I have a tripod I leave in the blind and will bring in the video head for my hunts. It goes in the pack as well.