Antelope Hunting - Can’t be that hard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Antelope Hunting - Can’t be that hard

My brother is somewhere in N Texas and sent a video from the side of the road. I thought these speed goats were notoriously hard to get a close look at? [emoji848]

I know. I know. Totally joking... I’m not a pronghorn dude. Never laid eyes on them in person and never hunted them. What’s the deal with these guys? Male/female? Good sized? I know pics are weak. Just curious.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Young buck. They're not hard to kill with a rifle. Finding a huge one is the hardest part.

Comment

I haven't ever hunted them, but when I lived up in the panhandle, I could drive up fairly close to them in a truck.

Comment

Two diff goats btw. Yeah he pulled right up to them he said. I understand this isn't typical.

Comment

Originally posted by BlackHogDown View Post
          Two diff goats btw. Yeah he pulled right up to them he said. I understand this isn't typical.
          It's not uncommon at all to drive by them that close. But if you stop the vehicle and get out, they don't typically stand around long. If you get inside their comfort zone in an attempt to get within bow range, they'll run off before you get that close. But getting into rifle range is often pretty easy.

Comment

Goats with rifle are cake. Goats with a bow in middle of plowed wheat stubble not so easy

Comment

First one looks like a pup, prongs below ears. Can’t tell anything other then male on second
              Last edited by Texans42; 10-02-2019, 02:01 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Texans42 View Post
                First one looks like a pup, prongs below ears. Can’t tell anything other then male
                My antelope experience is limited to the episodes of MeatEater on NF. What are the distinguishing features between male/female that you are seeing in such a poor photo?

Comment

Originally posted by Shane View Post