Google Earth Pro Tip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Google Earth Pro Tip

Google earth is really useful but this one tip has been most helpful.
    If you are looking at imagery on Google Earth Pro, do not forget to
    check out the historical imagery for the location.

I had seen a deer in the same area multiple times, haven't been able
    to put a stalk on him, it is extremely difficult where I hunt at Lake Meredith.
    So I was planning a hunt this afternoon and was trying to figure out a route
    that he might be taking. Here is what I am studying on the Google Earth,
    some of it was blurred to protect my hunting area.

If you look at the image there isn't a whole lot of good information to make a
    decision where to sit and wait for this deer. However, if you click the historical
    imagery and browse through older images you might find an image that
    identifies the trails much better:

The image from 2013 gives me much more useful information. That deer
    was generally following those trails to and from that corner. Coming from
    that way in the morning, and headed towards it in the evening within the last
    month.

If you follow the trails there is actually a water tank on the ranch land that it
    appears the deer might be headed to and from.

I am going to setup this afternoon around that corner based on the wind and
    see what happens.

Good thinking. Let us know how it goes.

Comment

I use google earth too. I upload the Sam Houston NF hunting areas into it so that I can figure out where I can hunt and what is off limits.

Comment

Originally posted by C-dubyah View Post
        I use google earth too. I upload the Sam Houston NF hunting areas into it so that I can figure out where I can hunt and what is off limits.
        Where did you get the SHNF boundary layer file to upload into google earth?

Comment

Here is the USDA Forest Service website, they're available for download.