Nikon lens question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nikon lens question

OK, I am about to spend some $$$$ on a camera(and lens). The lens I am looking at is the Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 ED-IF AF-S VR DX Zoom-Nikkor. I am also finding same lens in a VR II version. Nikon website states "VR II system offers the equivalent of using a shutter speed 4 stops faster." I am camera stupid, so what does this mean and is the VR II better than the VR version? Help me out here. How in the world do you ever finally decide what to get?

Originally posted by texag93 View Post
    ........... How in the world do you ever finally decide what to get?
    Buy Olympus!

Sorry Jason, couldn't resist and I'm no help on the Nikon stuff.

Comment

I am Nikon through and through. No talking me outta that unless you are giving me your Olympus.

Comment

I know, I'm safe.

Comment

texag, I'm no expert, but I went through the same questions a while back, and the answers I got made sense. VR, IS, VC, or whatever the manufacturer calls the vibration reduction technology is helpful if you shoot lower light STATIONARY subjects like landscapes, portraits, and such. If you are shooting sports, running animals, flying birds, or anything else that is moving, the VR technology won't "give you more f/stops". You need a fast shutter to stop motion, and if you don't have enough light you can't get a good exposure without slowing the shutter down. If the subject is moving fast, then it's going to be blurred whether you have a VR lens or not.

VR will reduce or eliminate camera shake when you hand hold it on slower shutter speeds, and the pic will be sharp if the subject isn't moving. So you have to decide what kind of shots you'll be taking mostly. If you shoot mostly moving subjects, then spend extra dollars on a faster lens (lower f/stop like 2.8 or lower). If you shoot mostly stationary subjects, then maybe the extra money spent on VR would be the better deal.