Ducks.......how do you do them.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ducks.......how do you do them.

Looking for a good recipe for some duck breast and how to get the game taste out. All the brest are from wood ducks.

I have been eating ducks for a many years now and i dont think ducks have that gamie flavor that everyone talks about. Anyway i take mine out from the freezer once thawed out i will let em soak in cold water for a few hours or so and let some of the blood be pulled out from the breasts and drain off and repeat till i am ready to start preparing them for the grill.

Start off by taking one side of the duck breast and fillet open
    after that is done take a half of a jalapeno without seeds and fill with cream cheese or what ever kind of cheese you desire put the jalapeno face down on the filleted open breast and fold up then wrap up with bacon and put on a good hot grill open flame. Know heres the trick to cooking ducks alot of people dont know how to cook them and thats when you here "it tastes like liver" well i have never eaten one that tasted like liver so with that being said cook them till the bacon has a good caramalized look and the meat is medium to medium rare and the cheese and jalapeno are all done at the same time and o by the way forgot to tell you to season with what ever spices you want to after wrapping them up in. Serve with ice cold beer and enjoy.
    Let me know what you think about them after you try and also wood ducks are the best eaten one in my opinion.

Comment

Put them in water with some salt. I keep the breasts in the fridge for two days changing out the "brine" at least twice. Rinse and cook however you like. Taste/texture of a fine filet or tenderloin. Anything cooked over medium is sac-religiuos.

Comment

Good Luck.

Comment

I have wood ducks by the flocks on my place. Quit killing them several years ago because they ARE NOT FIT to EAT. yuckie

Comment