D-loop changes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

D-loop changes

how often do I need to change a D-loop on my string?
    Is annually enough or what kind of wear do I look for?

I practice 2-3 times a week, sometimes once a week.

If you see fraying like these pictures (not mine) replace it.

Comment

I always replace them when fraying starts to take place. Tie in nick sets and you won’t have to worry about any tuning issues if/when you have to replace it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

I watch mine a little closer now for fraying. Release is kind of hard on the upper lip when D loop breaks....

Comment

Hoping to tag onto this thread as I haven't quite reached the 30 post minimum before I can create my own threads...

Please note I'm completely new to archery...

I went to Bass Pro in Grapevine and was told my draw length was 29". He also put me at 54# draw weight. (For what it is worth, I am 5' 9", 52" shoulders, 260 lbs, former college baseball player...I'm "stout" or "husky sized". I say this because I was told by a much smaller guy that I should be having a stronger draw weight.)

I was getting inconsistent groups at 20 and 30 yards, often within about 6" of each other at 30. I don't know what is acceptable by the community's standards, but to me, that's not good enough. I didn't grow up in a hunting environment, so I'm learning everything myself. Thank God for YouTube University and this website - y'all are fantastic.

Anyway, on my first hunt last week and practicing at camp, I decided it would be best to go to Lufkin. I determined that the inconsistency (missing in all four quadrants) was due to my draw length being too long. I never really felt the draw stop that I should have been. I mean I felt it, but it wasn't comfortable to hold it there while aiming.