New to archery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to archery

I am looking at buying a bow soon. I have never hunted with one and look to do so next season. I have a few questions: 1) should i wait until after deer season to make my purchase, in hopes of a better deal; 2) what would be a reasonable sum to spend in buying/setting up a bow for a newcomer? 3) what would be some recommendations on bows I should look into? I am wanting to buy a bow that I will not be dissatisfied with as I develop my shooting, (basically want to buy something i will be pleased with several years down the road).

I forgot to mention I am not as worried with the monetary concerns as I am with getting a quality bow.

Comment

well i've been shooting a parker for several years,and i've always heard martin has pretty good bows for a decent price. As far as all the accessories for the bow sights,stabilizer,arrow rest you don't have to spend an arm and a leg to get good quality equipment. I shoot a tuffy hunter rest it seems to work just fine and it's around 40 bucks or so,as far as sights i would at least spend around 50 -70 dollarsd on them cause it's all about the fiber optics to me cabelas has some good cobra sights for that price, and last for you man i would shoot either a string loop or ultra knoc i've tried shooting off the string in the past and it seemed that i wasn't as accurate hope i helped u out theres nothing like bow hunting and some people will never ever do it and that's sad. check out my buddies first bow buck if he doesn't get you pumped for bowhunting nothing will it's first deer ever actually lucky sumbeech

Comment

I shoot a Martin "PHANTOM II" and I like it alot. My suggestion would be to go to a Archery Shop and see if they will let you shoot some different bows to determine which bow you like. A big Welcome to the fire.

Comment