Need a starting point on knives

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need a starting point on knives

So I want a hunting knife not a typical Walmart knife.

I know little to nothing about knives.

I want to learn.

Here are some of my ponderings.
    Convex grinds vs concave grinds.
    I know the concave grind caves in.
    Why is that good or bad?
    What's a hollow grind?
    What are fullers for?

What's an rc hardness?
    Is cryo treating better?
    Which is best?

What are the benefits if the different profiles and points?

Is Damascus just for looks?

I have little to no desire to make my own knife. Looks like too much work.

When I reply to arrow building questions and broadhead selection threads, btw I'm no expert, I always ask what is your intended use.

Here's my intended use.
    One knife that will easily
    Field Dress deer and pigs.
    Skin deer
    Draw and quarter pigs.
    Maybe remove the head for a trophy.
    Without having to be resharpened after 2-3 cuts.

I have a havalon. The blade is skinny and I'm worried about breakage.

I also have a Victronix (sp?) It's sharp but felt kinda stiff when I was trying to cut along the spine to get the backstraps.

I have a Jero with a 6.25" blade. I am nervous using it when I am field dressing a deer. Big blade big hands

Originally posted by Pushbutton2 View Post
    So I want a hunting knife not a typical Walmart knife.

I know little to nothing about knives.

I want to learn.

Here are some of my ponderings.
    Why is that good or bad?
    What's a hollow grind?
    What are fullers for?

What's an rc hardness?
    Is cryo treating better?
    Which is best?

What are the benefits if the different profiles and points?

Is Damascus just for looks?

I have little to no desire to make my own knife. Looks like too much work.

When I reply to arrow building questions and broadhead selection threads, btw I'm no expert, I always ask what is your intended use.

Here's my intended use.