Additional retirement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Additional retirement

I currently have 6% of my check taken out for TMRS retirement. This coming October it will be moved up to 7%.

Long story short, I've had to cash out my retirement a couple times and only have about 18 months on it now.. would it be recommended to take out an additional 4% to make it an even 10%?.

I'm 31 and have next to nothing in retirement.. and its fuggin scary.

What's yalls thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Yes, and don't cash it in again.

Comment

Originally posted by Shane View Post
      Definitely and absolutely not going to cash it in again..

What's the best way to go about that? I'm a novice when it comes to this. Would it be a 457? Who would i set it up with?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Comment

Put as much as you legally or financially can

can't hurt if you can afford it

Comment

If you can afford to contribute the 10% then definitely do it.

Here is what I did to get my contribution built up. Every year at raise time, I put an extra percent in. So if I get a 3% raise, I keep 2% of it and the other 1% goes in my 401k. This way you don’t really feel it when you bump it up over time.

Comment

I'm pretty sure your city sets how much you can allocate to TMRS. If your wanting to put more money away look into a 457 or 457 roth account. I'm putting 7% in TMRS and an additional 3% into a 457 and 3% in a 457 roth. Ive only got 14 years in TMRS and plan on doing another 20-21 years before the numbers add up. Your city will have ICMA, Nationwide or something similar for the 457 accounts.
            Last edited by Roman AB; 03-19-2019, 09:08 PM.

Comment