Protein Feed Consumption Hill Country

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm getting on a new lease this year in the Hill Country and wanted to know how often I would have to refill on average the following free choice feeders. I know natural browse and rainfall would probably directly effect this but just trying to get a ballpark number since I have no experience feeding protein out there. We will be feeding February thru September.

1-1250lb
    2-2000lb
    2-350lb

I don’t have a lease out there but I hunted out there for a week this past season, there are tons of Deer. The guy who took me has a corn and protein feeder at each of his setups, each one goes off Twice in the morning and twice in the evening. He says he fills feeders about every two-three weeks. He also throws cotton seed and at one spot alone the deer will eat 1000 pounds in a week.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Other factors need to be consider as well, such as deer density and how often do you plan to or able to go to the lease to refill the feeders.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Deer density? Acreage? Lots to consider before you can get an idea.

Comment

IMO you should just plan on someone filling those once a month or more, plus someone should check for clogs after every weather event

The deer are slamming our cotton seed and protein so hard trying to put weight on for fawning and post rut , some times 50 lbs of CS a day
          Last edited by S-3 Ranch; 02-20-2018, 06:38 PM.

Comment

Thanks for the tips guys keep them coming.

Comment

On a place I hunt in Waring we go through approx 3 tons a month in the dead of summer and post rut w/ it slowing down to about 2 tons the rest of the year. The amount of natural forage plays a big part as well as any livestock, exotics, deer density, etc.

Comment

We had a 500lb feeder emptied in less than two weeks in menard. Putting out a 1k in a couple weeks to go with the 500lb

Comment