Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Son's wanting a bow, thoughts guys?

Hello Texas bowhunters forum,

It's great that you added me to this forum and I greatly appreciate it! I am here for a little advice on what I should do next, but let me start from the beginning.

Three mornings ago my boy came to me and asked if I could get in a bow for his next birthday, he even had examples in magazines that he was showing me. Now, I'm no expert when it comes to bows but I know that they can become dangerous if not handled correctly. Knowing this, my son will be turning 11 in 5 weeks and has his heart set on a bow but, Would you guys say 11 is safe to be handling a bow and arrow? and can you even get lessons for an 11-year-old?

These are some thoughts that are popping into my head right now but, there are much more when I get passed this stage like the bows themselves, Equipment, clothing and anything else that comes into this sport.

Really looking forward to speaking with you guys and seeing what you views on my boy getting his first bow is...

Thanks

Both of my kids started at about 6 yrs old my daughter is 15 and son 14 and both love it. If they are taught properly it can be a very safe sport. You can find lessons for your son depending on where you are and how far you wish to travel. Welcome to you as well.

Comment

Yes, you should buy him a bow

Comment

First, Welcome to the fire! All three of my boys started at the age of 4. Teach them right, get um hooked and enjoy!

Comment

Looks like my son might be starting a little later than your children, better late than never. This makes me feel good knowing I can get him a bow!.

Now, Do bows come in different strengths? and things like that? what should I be aiming for? (no pun intended)

Thanks guys

Comment