Homemade Feeder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Homemade Feeder

Anobody have plans for a homemade feeder? More specifically, a broadcast type feeder, not just the gravity / chain feeder.
    This is my first year potentially getting on a lease and I need something that's dependable and fairly cheap.

Can You Weld?

Comment

No way I'll ever win any contests, but I can stick 2 pieces of metal together.

Comment

I used a funnel and put the timer, battery and wires in the barrel through the trap door.

[ATTACH]46238[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]46239[/ATTACH]

Comment

Love the ingenuity on the trap door idea. I'm guessing the wiring comes back through the pipes?
          I know we all love camo and natural shades, but how critical is it that the feeder looks 'natural' as possible?

Comment

i used to be on a lease with a guy that used a old military ammo box with a quartz timer inside he turned the box sidways ran the spinner out the side and mounted it with 4 long bolts...i thought it was a good idea for a spinner it had all the room u needed for the spinner plate he just used a peice of flashing cut in a circle with a very small bolt on it one on each side to keep the ballance of the spinner...it didnt throw very far but what does that matter it got the job done

Comment

I've heard of the ammo can idea. Anybody have some more specifics on how this works, and where to find supplies?

Comment

Chas-Mac used to make the bee-line feeder that used a an ammo can like you describe. Also used to be able to buy the ammo cans with the holes cut out already from them. I just looked at their website and it doesn't look like they have them anymore, but you might give them a call to make sure.

Comment

Originally posted by Scott G View Post
                  Chas-Mac used to make the bee-line feeder that used a an ammo can like you describe.
                  http://www.chas-mac.com/feeders.htm