• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What all is envolved in tuning a bow ?

Just wondering what all is done

in

Comment

1.) decent overall check of bow (strings, limbs, riser, cams, etc) to check for damage/cam lean
      2.) on binary cam bow, make sure string/cables are placing the equal amount of pull on their respective cam.
      3.) set correct nocking point
      4.) install rest and set centershot (get everything level and square)
      5.) papertune/walk back tune (whatever is preferred)
      6.) sight in
      7.) kill

Comment

Then u gotta check tiller, ata, timing, and spine selection

Comment

Heres the question I have for tuning

What's involed in tuning it if it's nots hit right with broad heads?

Comment

Originally posted by TallTexan View Post

I'm not an expert with tuning, but I would re do a field point tuning at about 6FEET. Then after your shooting bullet holes through paper, go back to 20 yards with your broadheads and shoot three or four and see how that does. If that doesnt work, get on youtube and start searching. Good luck

Comment

Originally posted by TallTexan View Post

Arrow spine and length, rest location and center shot, nock point, rest tension(only if it is not a drop away), draw weight. Those are all things that can help or hurt the ability of your bow to shoot BHs to the same POI as a field point.

And it could all be wasted time if the BH is not sitting squarely on the shaft, or the insert is not straight, and a simple spin test can find that.

Oh I think I forgot possible. Cam lean, cam timing, and possibly a cable harness that could need to be tweaked.

Comment

SS Lutz ® blades, 7/8” bleeder blades and Alcatraz™ Bladelock system all married with laser-like flight characteristics you have come to expect from Slick Trick

Comment

i'd start with center shot
                  1. paper tune for a starting point but by the time I'm done with my bows I typically will no longer get a bullet hole