Gotta pick a new arrow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gotta pick a new arrow

I'm old and old folks fear change. I have been using Carbonwood shafts for several years with good success . they have quite making them. I have about 2 dozen made up for each weight I hunt with but I tend to shoot at most everything that catch's my eye so I go thru a lot of arrows in a season. I have tried Grizzely sticks but was not happy with them. So whats the best shaft out there for a 70# bow and a 57# bow

Buff:
    I went through the carbon and wood phase but ended back up shooting the old trust worthy Aluminum arrows, in fact I felt my shooting improved some over the wood arrows.
    My arrows are 2216 with 140 gr broadhead at about 595 gr.
    I would think you could shout 2315's but not possitive on that.

Comment

I like shooting the carbons, due to the small diameter! I think if I want to add more weight to my shafts, I'll go with the inserts from three rivers.

Love those carbons, either it is straight, or it's broke!

Comment

well buff i shoot goldtips , but i saw your post and noticed how much respect you give goldtips so i guess you don't care for them. i am in the same boat. after i heard goldtip where hard to find and they lost their plant i don't know what carbon shaft to get next. so i will be watching this post.
        if you go with the gold tips i am shooting a 58 lb recurve with goltip 3555's with 150 grain bh. i am going to try to swap to a 5575 with a 100 grain insert and 125 grain tips but i don't know how that is going to work out.

Comment

I think i'm gonna try the CX Heritage shafts. I've heard their real consistent in spine and their priced a little better than the Eastens and Beemans.

Comment

I am shooting the Heritage shafts. I picked them because they had one of the higher grain weight per inch. Plus they take the added brass. I got them from Keystone Country Store.