Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Game Management/Age & Score/Trailcam Pics

Old 03-31-2017, 08:20 AM   #1
Birddog66
Ten Point

Hunt In: Milam County
Default Hog dogging affect on deer hunting?

Here is the deal - We (my deer lease group) just found out yesterday that the farmer on our deer lease(not the LO, fyi) has recently had hog doggers out to our place in order to keep the pig population in check. Historically, we have not had many pigs, which has been somewhat surprising to me, given the general area (Hare, Tx). They move through occasionally and hit feeders, but not enough consistency to hunt, imo. Yes, we have signed lease agreements and exclusive hunting rights. Yes, we know the LO in in breach of our agreement but nobody is interested in going Johnie Cockran over some hog doggers at this point. I have zero experience with hog dogging and know nothing about the affects if has on the deer herd and deer hunting. I'm a dog guy and owned pit-bulls for 2 decades before I got into gsp's. I have always wanted to go along on a dog hog-hunt just to watch the dogs work, I think it's something I would enjoy.

Please help me with some insight from people with firsthand knowledge and experience. Our lease renewal is coming up in a couple months -

1) What kind of affect does hog dogging have on deer hunting?

2) Is it a viable method to help control the pig population?
Birddog66 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-31-2017, 08:23 AM   #2
Mexico
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Old Mexico, Centerville Tx

Absolutely will help with controlling your pig population but unfortunately will run your deer to the next county if the pressure is to harsh.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Last edited by Mexico; 03-31-2017 at 08:27 AM..
Mexico is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-31-2017, 08:25 AM   #3
Birddog66
Ten Point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mexico View Post