Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Never too old!!! (long read)

Howdy Y'all!

Even at 45 yrs. old, I am not too old to feel like a kid!

First off, I must apologize to all my TBH brothers. This deer was not taken with a bow, but with a rifle. This is only my second deer ever, and my first true Buck, and I just had to share it with everyone. I killed a "button" buck 3 wks. ago with my bow - my first deer ever - but was too embarrassed to share it. I thought it was a doe.

I grew up in Colorado, the son of a preacher who loved to fish, and taught me well to be a fisherman, but never had time to take my brother and I hunting. Didn't start hunting until after I graduated from TAMU and moved back to Colorado back in 1994. Pursued Elk twice while living there, but never had any luck. Moved the family back to Texas in 1998, got hooked on Bass fishing, and spent all my free time pursuing a 10-pounder - still chasing that one. Ha! Got on my first lease 6 yrs. ago out near Franklin, but never saw anything. Hunted the SHNF for 2 years, also with no luck. Joined my current lease last year, and found a good one.

Headed up to my lease just outside of Diboll on Sunday afternoon, after working an OT shift Saturday night for MCHD. Running on 30+ hrs. of no sleep, grabbed me a Monster and a Mountain Dew and hit the road about noon. Got to the lease at about 2 pm, changed clothes in camp, then drove out to my usual parking spot about 1/2 mile from my stand. I started loading up my climbing stand, my backpack, my harness, an orange vest and orange cap (it's gun season now and I have no idea who's in the woods). I always carry my climbing stand in on the first day, and carry it back out when headed back home. Just my preference, but it's alot to carry sometimes. I truly wanted to take both my bow and my 30-30, but I couldn't carry both. So I opted for the boom stick, and would take both into the woods the next morning, when I had much less to carry in.