Aoudad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aoudad

My wife and i will be heading to Medina next week to hunt Aoudad for our honeymoon, im a chef and specialize in wild game but never worked with Aoudad before. What all can you do with the meat? Is it gamey mike ram meat?

never tried it or killed one (hopefully in may) but never heard a good thing about Aoudad meat.

Comment

Never killed one, but ate some one time, and it was nasty.

Comment

I have heard that the ewes are good and so are the younger rams, but they old matures rams are pretty harsh. Pretty much like anything. Don't be frightened by people who say that they are tough and awful, that is not the case. You really can do just about anything with them but a classic, of course, is back stap medalions with four and oil.

Comment

We have tried all sizes, ages, sexes, and ways to cook them and they are not edible. They are just very rank tasting.

Comment

Dont even try it, it's gross!!!

Comment

Its not very good...But they are really cool looking animals. Get a big one!

Comment

Ewes are fine. Rams use the pine board method. Cook meat on pine board for 6 hrs then throw away the meat and eat the board.

Comment

Maybe coming off a game ranch where they are fed protein and corn a ewe or young ram might be edible. I've not ever killed one behind a high fence, so I don't know. I've killed a few free range aoudad in the canyons of the Panhandle, and I've eaten....er....tried to eat many of all ages, sizes and sexes. At best (ewes), it's pretty gamey and tough. Rams aren't worth fooling with at all, IMO. Like really bad-tasting boot leather.

A protein-fed aoudad prepared by a chef that specializes in wild game might not be so bad. It would be worth a try. Don't sell it to your customers until you taste it yourself though!

Comment

The ewe I shot was decent not something I would serve my friends. The ram I shot was absolutely awful!!

Comment