Help me get into reloading

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me get into reloading

So I got a 458 Socom upper in a trade. The only way to make this thing any where close to affordable to shoot is to reload for it. I am on a budget, meaning the most cost effective way to get started

So, what are the essentials to get me started loading one caliber? I know there are a lot of reloaders on here who can give me solid info. FYI: I have reloaded with a friend a few years ago, so I am not totally ignorant to the process. I am going to start with new 458 brass.

They make kits that have all the basics (RCBS and Hornady come to mind) I’d start looking there and decide if you want to piece a kit together or buy a preset kit.

If I had to do it all over again I’d buy the set and upgrade later on. I’ve been doing it for about 15 years

Sierracharlie out…

Comment

So which kit is the best value? The Hornady kit looks pretty nice

Comment

The Hornady kit will get it done and is on sale for 18% off right now at Midway.
        If you're not worried about speed or accuracy you can get started pretty cheaply.
        I've got the opposite advise about buying stuff you know you'll upgrade... buy once and be done.

Comment

Check out the Lee Turret press. It comes in cheaper than the RCBS and Hornady stuff. Buy the best scale you can afford within your budget.

Comment

But, now that I look, that Hornady kit at Midway is a great deal and would be a good kit to run with!

Comment