Cisco/Eastland County Hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cisco/Eastland County Hunting

I have the opportunity to lease 500 acres NW of Cisco, not quite halfway to Moran. I’ve always hunted hill country, so I have no experience hunting out that direction. I’ve read about every forum I could find online and the majority act like it’s tough hunting; few deer and mostly nocturnal. The majority of posts are old and I haven’t stumbled across anything up to date, so I figured I’d inquire about the production of this area more recently. Also, what does land typically go for around that area?

Thanks for the help!

I hunt around Cisco. We lease about 200ish acres. It’s about 4500 a year for us. Hunting is generally good. Last year we had a huge acorn crop so the hunting was terrible. Was still able to get a doe in the freezer. I see a ton more deer than I did when hunting East Texas. I like hunting there, will probably eventually buy a ranch in the area.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

I have been hunting that area for 6-7 years now. This is probably no help but I can best describe the deer hunting as "spotty". I don't think there is a huge deer population to begin with (nothing like the Hill Country) so to be successful in that area I think you have to put in a lot of work. Case in point - a buddy and I leased 450 acres right on Hwy 6 that looked like awesome deer habitat, but we gave it up after 3 seasons because we saw remarkably few deer. (all we did was put out corn feeders) In contrast, the guy who owns the 500 across the road has put a lot of time and money into management - multiple food plots and tons of protein. He is very selective and kills a really nice buck every other year or so. The increasing number of high fence places has restricted deer movement as well. We are now hunting a place east of Moran and it is somewhat better.
      Last edited by jerp; 10-15-2018, 10:51 AM.

Comment