Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Public Hunting Opportunities

Old 10-03-2016, 07:42 PM   #1
RAMSLAYER
Four Point

Default Public Hunting Gear

Deer season is upon is, and with no lease this year I am looking to join fellow TBHers on public land. With weather, timing and other elements uncontrollable, one of the few things a hunter can control is his gear. So what is something you find beneficial to your success on public land? Big or small don't hesitate to post. Hope others can find this this helpful too!
RAMSLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2016, 07:45 PM   #2
homegrown
Ten Point

Hunt In: Hill, Bosque, Ellis, SE OK, NM

Game cart a good set of boots & a lot of patience.
homegrown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2016, 07:48 PM   #3
Texas Grown
Pope & Young

^^^ Homegrown's got it. I've been doing it for 30 years now.
Texas Grown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-03-2016, 09:45 PM   #4
BuckSmasher
Ten Point

Hunt In: All Over

The single most important piece of equipment I use beside my weapon is a climbing deer stand. Other stuff I like in no particular order,
- Map Apps
- Mountain Bike
- X2 on the comfortable boots
BuckSmasher is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-04-2016, 11:20 AM   #5
Slow&Steady
Six Point

Hunt In: Whatever public land I can find game on.

I find the following items to be indispensable when hunting public land.
- OnXMaps Hunt app (or a gps and good map with topo overlay over aerial photo)
- Good boots
- A very light and mobile climbing stand, hang on and sticks, or ground blind (depending on where and how you hunt)

Once the season ends, you'll want to trade some of the rubber off the bottom of your boots for some on site knowledge.
Slow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 10-04-2016, 01:39 PM   #6
pelochas
Four Point

Hunt In: SHNF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow&Steady View Post