keep string on or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

keep string on or not?

I am new to this traditional stuff...Do I need to unstring my bow when not shooting or does it hurt to leave it strung? Thanks

Yes and no.......

It does not hurt "modern" glass recurve and long bows to leave them strung for long periods of time. If you are going to be shooting your bow every day/week/month I would leave it strung. There is always the danger of twisting a limb if something goes wrong while stringing your bow.

If its going to be several months before you shoot a bow again I would unstring the bow just incase an old string breaks while strung. Its a good idea to replace the string every year with a new one made with new/fresh materials.

Comment

What Thumper said

Comment

Originally posted by Thumper View Post
        Yes and no.......

It does not hurt "modern" glass recurve and long bows to leave them strung for long periods of time. If you are going to be shooting your bow every day/week/month I would leave it strung. There is always the danger of twisting a limb if something goes wrong while stringing your bow.

If its going to be several months before you shoot a bow again I would unstring the bow just incase an old string breaks while strung. Its a good idea to replace the string every year with a new one made with new/fresh materials.
        Yep, that 'bout covers it.

Comment

With Thumper and Losthawg giving advice, I might as well go surf a fishing board. I am not needed here!

Ditto.

Comment

Chunky...Neither am I. They 'bout said it all.

Comment

Thats some good info, thanks guys.

Comment

I see how you are Chunky. You never give me any credit whatsoever.

Comment

shhot alot problem solved.

Comment

LOL, okay.....a public anouncement!!!

Hear one, hear all,

Mark "Broken Arrow" Taylor is credited for the following things.

Carrying a big hacker with him to the TBH golf championship!