Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 08:11 PM   #1
TexasBob
Pope & Young
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Houston Area
Default Trane Furnace Issue

Uncles furnace wonít stay lit. Exhaust fan comes on, igniter glows. Sometimes it wonít light at all. Most times it lights the top burner and kicks off before the second is fully lit. New flame sensor didnít make a difference. Control board light doesnít flash, not sure if led works though. If you let it cycle enough, it will run on occasion. Any HVAC guys have a guess? Ac lost Freon and they have used window units for a few years. They said last year it would cycle a few times before staying lit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TexasBob is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 08:26 PM   #2
thegrouse
Ten Point
 
thegrouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: Wilson and San Saba County
Default

Low gas pressure or plugged orifices?
thegrouse is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 08:38 PM   #3
Uncle Saggy
Pope & Young
 
Uncle Saggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegrouse View Post
Low gas pressure or plugged orifices?


This
Dirty?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Uncle Saggy is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 08:38 PM   #4
Starman
Ten Point
 
Starman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Hunt In: Menard Co.
Default

Last year, at the beginning of the season, my burners would fire up then shut down immediately.

I discovered that one of the burner tubes had a lot of some sort of insect webbing in it.
Cleaned it out, and it fired right up and has worked ever since.

Hopefully it’s a simple solution like that for you.
Starman is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 08:43 PM   #5
TexasBob
Pope & Young
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Houston Area
Default

Thanks guys. Iíll get over there and check that out. Keep the ideas coming please


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TexasBob is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 08:49 PM   #6
critter69
Ten Point
 
critter69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Hunt In: CO and Texas when I can
Default

Dang that sure sounds like a flame sensor. Do you still have the old one ? If so I would try and " sand" it but not with sand paper as the sand will melt and cause failure. Sand it with one of the green scour pads, then put it back in. Maybe you bought a bad one. Check to make sure the other end has a tight connection to the board. And that the sensor sit in the path of the flame. Another thing it could be is the pressure switch, some work on pressure and some on vacume. You can take the hose ( s) of and blow or suck through it and you should be able to hear the switch close and open. Some times it's the tubing that connects them is cracked. Cut just a small piece off each end. If you take the pressure switch off you will find a small " purple" spot on it. Under that glue is an Allen wrench. Turn in makes it more sensitive, out less. ( I think, I may have that back wards). But I would say it's one of those two things. If you find witch way the switch works ( blow, or suck) and you time it right the furnace should light and stay lit as long as you are blowing or sucking. If it does try the Allen wrench on the back or cut the ends of the tubing. Worst case replace pressure switch. But try the flame sensor first , because it's the easiest. Let me know if this helps you, I truly believe it's one of these two things though. If it's a dirty orfice, watch it when it tries to light, flame should go from right to left, with no hesitation. Flame sensor on left side. If it hesitates, flutters, or does not have a constant flame on that sensor, it may be this also, but is less common ( at least here). It's easy on most models to remove the gas valve and the tube that holds the orfices. You can remove the whole orfice ( there will be multiple ones, depending on btu output) a small wrench, or just stick a paper clip in the small holes. You should be able to look down the Venturi tubes at this time and see if there is any thing in them.

Last edited by critter69; 11-12-2018 at 09:01 PM.
critter69 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 11-12-2018, 10:03 PM   #7
double bogey
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Mesquite
Hunt In: where ever I can
Default

You may need an actual tech for this one. Do not adjust the pressure switch. Sounds like low gas pressure to me, If the fire isn't progressing from the ignitor side of the burners to the flame sensor side. Flame sensor wont make any difference if the flame isn't reaching it.
double bogey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com