Elephant mountain?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Elephant mountain?

I got drawn for archery in elephant mountain. I am supper excited and can't wait. Anybody have any info they would like to share.

Quail hunted there when I was attending Sul Ross and also helped out with spotlight counts. There is some really good deer back then . I graduated in 99 and at that time even saw a few hogs. I seen more deer in the revenings than mornings. Can't remember exact areas but I hope I drew also I haven't checked. Good luck

Comment

Was drawn for Black Gap. Am asking same question. Will be taking my 60 power spotting scope and try to get elevated.

Comment

A guy I hunt with has been to both places as well as Matador. He was succesful using calls and hunting watering holes. You would also want to be comfortable with shots up to 80-100 yards. Either way, it's really tough. I told him I had signed up for the draws, and he felt like if I won, I was probably not good enough to come back with anything.

Congrats on the win.

Comment

Elephant mountain WMA is incredible. Went there twice back when I was in school for wildlife biology classes. Beautiful country!

Comment

PM me your info and I will give you a call. I can give you tons of information on Elephant Mt. and Black Gap.

Comment