First BowKill and First Exotic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First BowKill and First Exotic

It was last December when I first learned about this website. I originally was attracted to this site because I like to watch the filmed hunts you guys made, and read hunting success stories, etc. But after about a month of visiting I decided that I was going to give bowhunting a shot. So about July of this year I went to Cabelas and Purchased a PSE Fire Flite. I started practicing and really started to like shooting my new bow. When Deer Season came around, I took to the Woods to try to get my first bow kill. I was not able to close the deal on a deer during bow season, and when rifle season came along all the deer disappeared. So far this been one of the slowest deer seasons of my life. Determined to get a bow kill, I scheduled a hunt with Hunts Bowhunting Ranch in Avery Texas. When I arrived last Friday I was greeted by Rickey Hunt the owner of the Ranch and given a tour. Mr. Hunt and his family are good people who really love what they do. I told Mr. Hunt that I was going to try to harvest a Corsican Ram for my first bowkill, but that if a Blackbuck game me an opportunity I would try to take make a good shot on him. Saturday, Morning I found myself, in a tripod stand over looking a feeder at 20yds with no animals under me. This is pretty much how my entire season had gone. The wind was blowing in all directions, so I figured it was just bad luck. Then about 8:00 or so the wind died down and the first two rams showed up. I watched them feed thinking that I this was my first sit and I had time to wait to see what showed up. Aas the hunt went on a few more rams started showing up. Their were some nice white dalls, and painted desert sheep in front of me, but I really wanted a Corsican. Then out at about 100 yrds I noticed a big Black Hawaiian and a smaller but still nice Corsican behind him. I waited and waited but it looked like they were not going to