Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 08:00 PM   #1
florissant
Four Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth
Default Cucumbers in a tomato cage

Brothers and Sisters of the Fire,
My cucumbers are taking off - can I put a tomato cage around them or do they need to crawl on the dirt? The plant tab said to trellis wouldn't be the same thing?
florissant is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:03 PM   #2
Walkin STX Hank
Ten Point
 
Walkin STX Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Killeen TX
Hunt In: Where I can
Default

I have a 5ft piece of old chain link fence that I use to have my cucumbers climb on. They do great every year. and they are already climbing nowand I have all kinds of blooms.
Walkin STX Hank is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:05 PM   #3
mjhaverkamp
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Southlake, Texas
Hunt In: Cooke, Wilbarger, Foard Counties
Default

I think I read on here or another forum that a cage was the way to go, I believe they suggested using the goat or hog wire made into a circle.
mjhaverkamp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:06 PM   #4
Draco
Pope & Young
 
Draco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Default

A tomato cage works pretty good. Welded wire stock panels work better. I use the 6x6" as you can reach through them easier to pick.
Draco is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:23 PM   #5
RamalRedskin
Four Point
 
RamalRedskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Lampasas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkin STX Hank View Post
I have a 5ft piece of old chain link fence that I use to have my cucumbers climb on. They do great every year. and they are already climbing nowand I have all kinds of blooms.
This is what my grandfather does every year. His always do very well.
RamalRedskin is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:25 PM   #6
slayer
Pope & Young
 
slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington
Hunt In: Knox County
Default

im using tomato cages on mine
slayer is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:30 PM   #7
Walkin STX Hank
Ten Point
 
Walkin STX Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Killeen TX
Hunt In: Where I can
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkin STX Hank View Post
I have a 5ft piece of old chain link fence that I use to have my cucumbers climb on. They do great every year. and they are already climbing nowand I have all kinds of blooms.
I went out and took a picture of mine. I actually put seeds on both sides of the fence.
Attached Images
   
Walkin STX Hank is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-27-2011, 08:35 PM   #8
florissant
Four Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth
Default

I'm just worried about a pretty good size fruit dropping off the vine.
florissant is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-28-2011, 06:07 AM   #9
Walkin STX Hank
Ten Point
 
Walkin STX Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Killeen TX
Hunt In: Where I can
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by florissant View Post
I'm just worried about a pretty good size fruit dropping off the vine.
I never had that problem. Those vines are pretty tuff. I have had some long cucumbers all the way at the top and they do just fine.
Walkin STX Hank is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-28-2011, 04:35 PM   #10
Starman
Eight Point
 
Starman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cypress, TX
Hunt In: Menard Co.
Default

I use these tomato cages I made myself. They work well and support the weight just fine. I use about 70" of wire fence to make 19-20 inch diameter cages. Those cucumbers are growing pretty fast right now.
Attached Images
 
Starman is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-28-2011, 04:36 PM   #11
salth2o
Pope & Young
 
salth2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Atascocita
Hunt In: Delta and Harris/Montgomery Counties. Anywhere else I can.
Default

Mine are growing on a cattle panel.
salth2o is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2011, 09:36 AM   #12
SCREAMINREELS
Ten Point
 
SCREAMINREELS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tomball
Hunt In: Brenham
Default

Mine are taking over didn't know they'd grow up wonder if it's too late to put em in one there about 3feet by 2 feet right now
SCREAMINREELS is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com