Quality Assurance Pros

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quality Assurance Pros

Anyone here work in QA? I work in metal finishing and will be the QAM in the very near future. I have been working under the current QAM for going on 2 years. Neither of us have any kind of certifications, to be honest it really isn't a necessity to have any certs because our program is small and we work in a very niche industry. But, I tend to like to be the best at things, I don't ever want to go into a situation less informed than someone else. With that being said, are there any certifications or classes that have helped you along the way? Any help and advice will be great, thanks.

No QA guys??

Comment

I did 12+ years in QA/QC across 2 industries - food & beverage and medical device. Worked as a Quality Engineer during my time in medical device industry. ASQ certifications are recognized & often you will see desire for these prior to being hired or obtained thereafter. I know of CQA & CQE ( certified quality auditor or engineer). Also, most quality positions dabble a lot toward process improvement. Along those lines is CSSGB - certified six sigma green belt. You can keep going higher such as black belt & even master black belt.

Comment

Quality Assurance Pros

ASQ offers a variety of certifications from auditing fundamentals to Quality System Development. Really certifications are functions or requirements set forth by the QMS. An example would be if you work in a ISO facility a solid recommendation would be to seek training on the current ISO standard as well as auditing fundamentals. Is it mandated, no. Is it a best practice, yes.