Gap vs Instinctive test

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gap vs Instinctive test

I honestly can't tell you if I use the arrow at all in my shooting. I do remember shooting in almost complete darkness in the old DART system.

If you had a safe place, like an archery shop with a big wall, do you think you could put a very small lighted spot "like a luminock" and shoot at it in the complete darkness where you could not possible see your arrow?

Would this be a test for how "instinctive" you are actually shooting?

Can you think of any other way to do it?

Just something fun to think about.

That's a great idea and one I wish I had the facilities to try it in.

Comment

im no expert but i know i dont look at the arrow. i look pull and release. but i suck at it so maybe i should gap..

Comment

Well I just ran out in the yard and tried this my elevation is spot on but my windage opened up to about 12", 6" either way of the arrow with the luminock from 20 yards... What does that mean?

Comment

I consider myself an instinctive shooter, but I'm not sure if taking your sight picture away completely wouldnt effect the instinctive shooter. I would think it's a sight picture verses conscious gaping, but that seemed more like a muscle memory and feel test to me.... Very interesting results though.... Makes you think

Comment

Interesting......

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by Chunky View Post
              I honestly can't tell you if I use the arrow at all in my shooting. I do remember shooting in almost complete darkness in the old DART system.

If you had a safe place, like an archery shop with a big wall, do you think you could put a very small lighted spot "like a luminock" and shoot at it in the complete darkness where you could not possible see your arrow?

Would this be a test for how "instinctive" you are actually shooting?

Can you think of any other way to do it?

Just something fun to think about.