Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hill and Ferguson are/were gap shooters?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hill and Ferguson are/were gap shooters?

Working at the hospital today, and reading Become the Arrow between cases. Mr Ferguson, says that both he and Hill shoot gap method and that there is no such thing as instinctive shooting. Meaning that we always reference past shots and adjust from there, even if we aren't "aiming" down the arrow. I'm still new at this game, and the practice of gap shooting fits my brain make up, but how does one use the gap method without worrying about seeing the arrow in low light conditions or on moving targets? I'm guessing that practice will allow me to "set the gap" without being able to see the arrow tip? Am I way off base?

There is one gentleman on Masters of the Barebow that teaches the gap method, but he claims that after a while the gap an instinctive method merge as one. I can nearly see how that cam happen if you shoot enough.

Comment

Originally posted by TWP View Post
      Working at the hospital today, and reading Become the Arrow between cases. Mr Ferguson, says that both he and Hill shoot gap method and that there is no such thing as instinctive shooting. Meaning that we always reference past shots and adjust from there, even if we aren't "aiming" down the arrow. I'm still new at this game, and the practice of gap shooting fits my brain make up, but how does one use the gap method without worrying about seeing the arrow in low light conditions or on moving targets? I'm guessing that practice will allow me to "set the gap" without being able to see the arrow tip? Am I way off base?
      I learned a lot from Byron's book, but it's been awhile and I don't remember him saying that he was a gap shooter.

How the heck does he shoot aspirin out of the air and take the time to align and aim his gap and arrow tip? I ain't buying it!

Comment

Originally posted by trad"Doc"53 View Post