Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > D-I-Y Projects
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2017, 07:46 PM   #1
coy-ote
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: la vernia tx
Hunt In: Dimmit county
Default circular saw power cord??

anyone ever use a heavier duty extension cord to make a longer power cord for power tools? I broke off one of the prongs on the plug of my Milwaukee sidewinder 15 amp, its old cord could use updating so I thought i'd ask here before I order a new one.
coy-ote is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-08-2017, 07:54 PM   #2
DarrellS
Ten Point
 
DarrellS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lorena,Texas
Hunt In: Limestone and Mills Counties
Default

First thing I do to a new saw is put a 20 foot cord on it.
DarrellS is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-08-2017, 08:18 PM   #3
Smokeater
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Clifton,Tx
Hunt In: Tree
Default

Yep, any time I replace an old cord, I use an extension cord. 12 or 14 awg, depending on what it is...12 for your saw.
Smokeater is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-08-2017, 08:59 PM   #4
coy-ote
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: la vernia tx
Hunt In: Dimmit county
Default

was trying to find an old episode of the new yankee workshop or this old house where I thought either Norm or Tom Silva said the same thing first thing they do I replace the cord with a 20 ft one thanx guys
coy-ote is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-09-2017, 07:19 PM   #5
coy-ote
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: la vernia tx
Hunt In: Dimmit county
Default

now for the simple question do you just buy a 12 awg extension cord and cut it for the length needed? and will any type do or do I need a special type for outdoor use or all they all the same?
coy-ote is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-10-2017, 02:58 PM   #6
Dale Moser
Pope & Young
 
Dale Moser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wise Cty
Hunt In: Young Cty
Default

I have an old cord I found on a jobsite missing an end, I cut hunks off it to replace factory power cords. It's 12ga. but I replace lighter cords with it. It seems to improve performance a little too.
Dale Moser is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-10-2017, 03:50 PM   #7
db@100
Eight Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Doesn't OSHA have a problem with long cords like that on a job site? I thought they had to be 6' or less. I do understand most are talking about personal use and not on a jobsite.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-10-2017, 03:54 PM   #8
Dale Moser
Pope & Young
 
Dale Moser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wise Cty
Hunt In: Young Cty
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db@100 View Post
Doesn't OSHA have a problem with long cords like that on a job site? I thought they had to be 6' or less. I do understand most are talking about personal use and not on a jobsite.
Probably so. If it's logical, OSHA has a problem with it.
Dale Moser is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-11-2017, 09:13 AM   #9
sendit
Eight Point
 
sendit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Default

I would consider the type of cable used.

SO, SJ or SJO is what I would use. This type uses a rubber jacket vs the plastic you find with most store bought extension cords. SJ has a 300V rating while SO has a 600V rating and has a thicker neoprene jacket which is very resistant to chemicals, cuts/nicks/burns and general abuse.

With a corded portable power tool, #14 is typically all you need for the cord. Now with extension cords #12 works better. My $.02

Side note... I have several Home Depot "Rigid" brand power tools which have longer than normal cords on them. They also have a lighted cord cap on them as well as a velcro strap on them that makes it nice to keep the cable rolled up while not in use.
sendit is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-11-2017, 09:28 AM   #10
Gummi Bear
Pope & Young
 
Gummi Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington
Hunt In: Comanche & Eastland
Default

SJTW is a very durable cord, without the sticky rubber jacket that SJ and SO cord has.

Many of your commercial grade extension cords are SJTW.

Include a quality cord cap (Hubbell, P&S, Leviton) and you'll be in good shape.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Gummi Bear is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-11-2017, 10:00 AM   #11
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

I just use a 12g 10' extension cord and whack off the one end. It's worked for 20+ years.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-11-2017, 07:23 PM   #12
mmoses
Ten Point
 
mmoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: League City TX
Hunt In: Texas
Default

Kinda on the opposite end but I've been tempted to cut all my cords down.

Makes them easier to store and transport
mmoses is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-11-2017, 08:58 PM   #13
steve morton
Eight Point
 
steve morton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Shiloh
Hunt In: Limestone County
Default

^mmoses^ what he said, then when you accidentally cut a power cord, its easier to fix extension cord than tearing down the circular saw.
steve morton is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-12-2017, 11:23 AM   #14
dmk
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Nowhere
Default

I accidentally cut mine on the saw. It's about 6" long or so. I just replaced the end. I kind of like not having to roll it up when I put it away. I always used a cord any way, so no real change.
dmk is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-12-2017, 11:42 AM   #15
bwssr
Pope & Young
 
bwssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Madisonville, Texas
Hunt In: Madison county
Default

what is wrong with an extension cord? DMK, some of mine are too...I like them
bwssr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-12-2017, 02:52 PM   #16
dmk
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Nowhere
Default

Just meant having a short cord on the saw is no trouble. I had to use a an extension with the saw pre-modification.
dmk is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com