Brisket: A Detailed "How To"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket: A Detailed "How To"

I have noticed several brisket threads here lately and figured I would put together a “how to” and share my experiences and limited knowledge with yall. I am by no means a professional nor do I think I am the best there is, however, I do think that some of you may benefit from this.

Brisket – What is it, and where does it come from?
    Brisket is a cut of meat from the breast or lower chest of beef or veal, typically a cow.

Ok, now let’s look at the anatomy of a brisket. (Picture Below) A whole beef brisket will consist of a flat and a point. The point will sit on top of the flat and typically the grain in each of these cuts of meat will not run in the same direction. The flat of the brisket is the most sought after cut. It is generally what is sliced and served and will always be the turn in meat for those who cook brisket in competitions. The point is generally used to make chopped brisket but can easily be used to slice and serve as well, it all depends on the Pitmaster.

Before we get ready to learn how to pick a good brisket, we need to learn the different grades of meat. When beef is being butchered it is graded into the following categories and will be marked as such on the package.

U.S. Prime – This is the highest grade of beef with the most fat marbling. This meat is very tender and only accounts for about 2.9% of all graded beef. U.S. Prime is usually reserved for high end dining establishments. Because this beef has such a high level of fat marbling, it is excellent for dry heatcooking methods.